We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1390 Northwest 118th Street, Clive, IA 50325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Very friendly staff. Hotel is close to plenty of restaurants. Easy to get on and off the highway while on a road trip. Great for getting some sleep after 13 hours on the road. Dogs loved it too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
101
36
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parker
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our move cross country. The main reason we stayed here is its pet policy, no charge for pets. The room was clean and the location near the highway was perfect for our trip. I would highly recommend this chain if you have pets traveling with you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln NE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here two years ago overnight, it was ok, but hotel rooms looked worn and needed some updates. The room I stayed in had new carpet, flat screen TV, clean and comfortable. The location is very convenient, and I would stay again when I need to come back to Des Moines. I like that pets are accepted as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We frequently stay at the La Quinta's because we travel with a small dog. We have found that all La Quinta's are not created equal. This one is clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast is nothing special. I was pleased that they did clear the snow and ice from the driveway and sidewalks. They even had salt spread in the walking ares. This was do much better than the La Quinta in Golden. Co. where even the handicapped ramp was iced over. By the way. Des Moines had more snow on the ground than Golden. The Midwest work ethic is definitely shows through here.i would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Not a real fancy place. But very comfortable ,clean , friendly people and very helpful. Big pool area with a hot tub. Great beds and plenty of soft pillows. Food and coffee where good and they have make your own waffles. We will stay again in the furture. Close to hospitals and shopping and plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good halfway point from SE Michigan to Denver, Co. Staff very friendly and accommodated us and our two small pets with no hassle. Requested a ground level room to have easy access to walk the dogs and given one near the exit into and out of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive

Address: 1390 Northwest 118th Street, Clive, IA 50325
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.