We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Mexico

Mi Mexico
11407 Forest Ave, Clive, IA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Clive
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The is a local family owned restaurant and a great place to stop and visit.

The food was very good and large portions. They bring out the standard chips and 3 types of dips, mild, medium and beans. The beans were good dipped with the mild salsa. I ordered the Fish taco and they were yummy!

I also had a few margaritas and they are good and strong! Beware if you are driving. One should be enough.

The atmosphere is is that of a typical Mexican restaurant. We went on a Tuesday evening around 6p and was seated right away.

The staff was very nice and accomodating.

I recommend this restaurant for some delicious Mexican food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

They have everything from margaritas to tacos and everything is really good

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Mi Mexico is a local, family run restaurant that offers the standard fare seen on every Mexican restaurant's menu (burritos, tacos, enchiladas), but it also offers dishes like chicken pipian that you don't often see in this part of the country. The food is good and typically is served quickly. Service is usually fast and friendly in the evening and on weekends, but it can be a bit slow sometimes at lunch. The margaritas are very good. Prices are quite reasonable. This is a restaurant that my friends and business colleagues who visit the Des Moines area ask to return to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast, flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Everything tasted very fresh. Complimentary chips and salsa - check - and a delicious bean dip as well. Ordered a small platter (beans, rice, coleslaw and one entree item) chicken chimichanga and it was to the table in probably 5-7 minutes. The chicken itself was really, really good - mostly breast meat that was very tender and moist. All of this for something like $8. Definitely try Mi Mexico if you're in the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Celebrated Cinco de Mayo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This restaurant did not take reservations and was extremely busy on May 5. After arriving at about 6 p.m. we were seated at about 7 p.m.

Service was friendly and prompt. They were, however, very busy and appeared rushed. Incorrect meals were initially brought to the table but corrections were made.

The food was good and plentiful.

It was a bit disappointing that there were no special festivities for Cinco de Mayo. We had anticipated a party atmosphere. Instead we just experienced a very busy, rushed atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Mi Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.