We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and cozy place to concentrate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wildwood Lodge to your Saves list
Wildwood Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calm and cozy place to concentrate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

From booking, the staff was very helpful and personable, and did an excellent job of accommodating my request for a room with plenty of space to get some work done.
Location is convenient but still tucked away enough for privacy and quiet. Close to many restaurants.
Wish the room had a fridge/microwave, but, other than that, large TV, desk, coffeemaker, etc.
Front desk staff was excellent. The hotel is homey, quiet and comfortable. Rooms are spacious and clean. Will definitely try to book here again.

Room Tip: Let staff know if you're traveling for business and would like a room with work space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
44
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel really sets itself apart from most blocky chain hotels I have stayed at. The decor of the place is that of being in a log cabin in the Northern United States. I must admit it really makes up for the fact that you are staying in suburban Des Moines, the hotel also really does a good job at combining it with all the latest modern comforts such as flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi, The Wi-Fi is a good strength. They do have an onsite indoor swimming pool. Its actually quite huge, definitely a hit with some of the younger guests, Unlike most hotel pools this one is freeform, it only goes down to five feet deep, thats alright because mostly children and adults use this pool. The bedding is really comfortable. So Long story short I really recommend this place.

Room Tip: Avoid Poolside rooms room (140 for instance) if you are a light sleeper and if you don't want y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Upon checking into my room on Sunday 2/2/14, I was disappointed with the condition of the room. Wallpaper falling from the wall, light flickering, no outlet cover, outside noise and lack of snow plowing in the parking lot. Frustrated, I wrote a TripAdvisor review and posted pictures of the wall paper. On Tuesday 2/4/14, I came back to my room with a note from maintenance that they had fixed the light, replaced the cover, added a power strip for extra outlets near the bed and temporarily fixed the wallpaper. I was rather impressed, as it was obvious my first review was read by the business. At 5pm on 2/4/14, I received a knock at the door and was greeted by the General Manager of Wildwood Lodge. Jon Brucklacher introduced himself and advised he had been made aware of my review. Mr. Brucklacher provided me with an apology letter on the condition of the room, how it was fixed or will be fixed (wallpaper will be fixed after I leave) and what they will work on to make sure another guest doesn't meet the same frustrations in the future. Mr. Brucklacher offered to move me to another room and I declined, but the gesture was appreciated. I was informed after my departure, this room will be "disabled" until the temporary fixes were made permanent. I would still recommend they find someone to do snow removal on a more frequent basis. It's been snowing 12+hrs and the parking lot does not appear to have been plowed. I'm not referring to the parking spaces, but the travel portion of the lot. I have upped my rating of this hotel to average as this hotel is showing its age and wear and tear. However, I would gladly upgrade the rating of staff and management to excellent. I have been told this location is due for an upgrade next year, which will greatly improve it's aged look. I will watch for the news of a remodel being completed and will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Since our daughter lives in Des Moines, we often stay at the Wildwood Lodge and view it as an excellent place to stay in the area. One of the best things about it is the lodge-inspired lobby area; it is very large and two storied and is filled with a myriad of "up north" decorations from fishing creels to a canoe to a moose! We are always finding interesting items that we had missed on previous stays. The rooms are spacious and do not seem like typical hotel rooms. As in the lobby, there is a lodge-like feel. The only negative about the room - and this is a small thing- is the placement of the bed in a king room. It almost right up against the wall on one side, making it necessary for the person on that side to crawl over the bed to get in. I have the impression that the queen rooms do not have this problem. Breakfasts at Wildwood Lodge are amazing! The entire lobby becomes the breakfast room and there are fresh made eggs, waffles (on weekends), oatmeal, sausage and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, meats, etc.. They really go all out. There is also food served on weekday evenings, but we were never there for that, so cannot comment. The pool is a very nice one and seems very well used - especially by the younger guests. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and accommodating and go out of their way to help. All in all, a very good choice for a place to stay in the Des Moines-Clive are.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huxley, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family, along with a few other families, spent New Year's Eve at the Wildwood and thought it was fantastic! They had a band, snacks, party favors and more! Our group sat by the fire, played games and relaxed, watching other families come and go. The next morning's New Year's breakfast was probably the biggest I've ever seen at a hotel. A great value for all of the fun we had.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amana, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great property at a very affordable rate in a great area for shopping!! Very nice north woods style theme! Will definitely go back when in that area! Breakfast o.k not spectacular but still a great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very nice facility. Unique interior of hotel and appreciated delicious hot continental breakfast choices in the morning. Also nice to have "happy hour" in the evenings and receive a free cocktail coupon when checking in. Conveniently located by interstate and chain restaurants within walking distance of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Address: 11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Clive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.