We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelight Inn

Candlelight Inn
511 Riverview Drive, Clinton, IA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Clinton
Cuisines: American
Description: Serving lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Additional locations in Sterling and Rock Falls IL
Restaurant details
Description: Serving lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Additional locations in Sterling and Rock Falls IL
Clinton, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

You can never go wrong with the Chicken George but the grilled Prime Rib is out of this world! Joining the Candlelight Gives Back is a worth while investment! You pay $25 up front. Then after 3 visits, they donate your $25 to the charity of your choice and give you $25 credit! Then you earn $25 credit for every $400 you spend! Also, on Black Friday, you have an opportunity to purchase gift cards at a great value!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Candlelight Inn's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Chicken George with Jan sauce(Excellent) Real chicken tenders, not McNuggets, cooked in peanut oil. I've had fish and prime rib also. I have yet to have a disappointing meal at any of the 3 Candlelights, Clinton IA (on the river and the newest), Rockfalls IL (just off I-88), and Sterling IL (shaped like an old barn, but nice inside decorated with a lot of copper and brass). The Sterling IL one is the oldest of the 3, but I remember the one above MR P's in downtown Sterling, back in the 80'S. Stop and you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good view that's all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We scored a window table at lunch...nice view....inexperienced server was pleasant, but not very helpful or skilled in service. Food was ho hum at best....Moderately expensive for this quality food. I see another review suggests a drink and eating elsewhere...good advice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Soild, above average restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Have been here several times with my wife and family and although the food isn't gourmet quality, it's very solid family/American dining and I can't remember being disappointed here. Set next toa marina, there are inside and outside tables with a nice view of the river. Inside is mostly traditional booths and tables with a nautical motif.

Menu pretty standard fare with the specialty Chicken George, which is basically battered deep fried chicken. Portion sizes are plenty enough for me and we often get an extra meal out of what we take home. Drinks nothing special, pretty standard beer and wines.

Service almost always good, although there have been times where there was a bit of a wait for the food even when they weren't that busy.

If you're a local they have programs that donate to local charities and qualify you for discounts in your birthday and anniversary months.

Overall a good and dependable place to go.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A great restaurant in downtown Clinton facing the river the baked Cod is great and choice of sides ample don't miss the Conviction red wine from local winery Wild River

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candlelight Inn also viewed

 

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.