We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't have too much fun... Acting silly will get you banned from the casino” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Rose Casino & Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Rose Casino & Resort
Save
You added Wild Rose Casino & Resort to your Saves list
777 Wild Rose Drive, Clinton, IA 52732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Beloit, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't have too much fun... Acting silly will get you banned from the casino”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I were a part of a party of eight taking advantage of the resorts golf package. It was a very hot day (Mid 90's) and when we got to our room, our group played a few rounds of cards and had a couple drinks. We were celebrating a 42nd and 43rd anniversary and were acting pretty silly when we went to dinner. The ladies in the group were singing oldies, and having fun. We all ordered dinner and were going to end the evening in the casino. By the time we were going to enter the casino, it had been a good three or four hours since we had had alcohol. However, the security guard at the door said someone in the restaurant had told him we were intoxicated and he wouldn't let us in. He could tell we were intoxicated because our eyes were glassy. Not once did anyone mention to us that we were out of line in the fairly empty restaurant and no where is there an alcohol policy posted. This really put a damper on the evening. We were banned to our rooms like some teenagers. If you go to Wild Rose... be careful not to have too much fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
19
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stay at the Hampton inn. These people are horrible. They wouldn't let us into the casino to spend money because one of the people in our party was under 25... Then they told us we couldn't leave the building. They do realize they are in Clinton Iowa not Vegas right? They need my money...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to a wedding and reception at the wild rose and besides the good friends it was a complete waste of time. The food was horrible.....whole room of servers that preferred to hide behind walls rather than do their jobs. As others have reported once you get to the casino its one drink every 30 minutes. Really? Only way you getting a buzz in this place is to byob. As far as the smoke..
I'm a smoker and i found the stale stench everywhere appalling . As far as the the beds, that's actually the reason I'm writing this review. I cant even attempt to sleep on this pos bed. Hard as a rock, lumpy and the brick pillows are a great touch. For a place built only 4 years ago its way run down and not worth your money or time. As a side note. 20 of us entered the casino and not one winner off anything but table games. You hit one line in maybe 35 pushes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at hotly and casino on a Monday night. Rooms we small but very clean and casino was nice but very small, not all tables were open. Front desk person was very helpful and shopping and restaurants were very close. I would recommend this place for a small quiet gathering, not the place to party hard.

Room Tip: Book early only about 30 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The room was very large and clean. Only complaint was the bed. SUPER LUMPY! Like sleeping on gopher holes. The bathrooms are large and spacious. Sharps containers in bathrooms and giant shower stalls. Great for those with aches and pains and medications

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in a suite and it was comfortable and clean. It was very quiet and not crowded, although we were there on a Monday so the weekends may be a different story. The casino was smoky but unfortunately most casinos are. There weren't many table games, and it was actually pretty small. Breakfast was adequate. We didn't realize the buffet isn't open during the week and we ended up having dinner at the sports bar instead. The food was decent. All in all we would recommend the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms were clean (although the bed was rock hard) but did smell a bit like stale smoke. Kind of to be expected from a casino hotel though. Front desk staff was excellent, but unfortunately that's about all I have to say in a positive tone. The service at the bar/restaurant was awful. Absolutely terrible. Waited for 15 minutes to get a drink and there were no other customers even in there. When the drinks came, the added soda was flat. When we advised them of this, her response was, 'Yeah, it's usually like that'. We weren't even sure how to respond to that. We then ordered a bottle of wine and it took her another 10 minutes to uncork that. The staff seems incredibly under-trained and have no idea how to answer any questions about their own facilities. Then there is the buffet...Oh. My. Please listen to the other reviews on here about that. I am usually willing to give a place the benefit of the doubt, but I am sorry I did about this buffet. It was utterly terrible. The food was cold and had zero flavor, all of the meat was tough and almost everything had a film on it from sitting out so long. It's in the top 2 of the worst buffets I have ever been to, and the other one only beat it because they were serving spaghettiO-s. Horrendous. We left hungry because we just couldn't stomach any of it. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Rose Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rose Casino & Resort

Address: 777 Wild Rose Drive, Clinton, IA 52732
Location: United States > Iowa > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay with us is one you won't soon forget. We invite you to relax in our beautiful hotel after a first class gaming experience and enjoy everything else the Wild Rose Casino & Resort has to offer! You will appreciate our central location and convenient access to the attractions and events within 10 miles of our location. Our Amenities include: Full service casino Coaches Corner Sports Bar & Grill Sawmill Buffet Iowa Store Oakwood Grand Ballroom Meeting facilities Convenient location Cable TV Free wireless high speed internet access Complimentary Clinton Herald newspaper Free parking Large vehicle parking (bus, rv, semi) Complimentary valet services Check in: 4:00 p.M. Check out: 11:00 a.M. Fitness center Ice/Vending Machines Free wake up calls Complimentary Breakfast for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Rose Casino And Resort
Wild Rose Hotel Clinton
Wild Rose Casino & Resort Clinton, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Rose Casino & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.