We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
2023 7th Avenue, Clear Lake, IA 50428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Unless you want to spend high bucks, for just average, with issues, do not go here. We were traveling to Minneapolis, with a stop over in Clear Lake to visit a friend. It was late, it was convenient, we had not had a chance to check with Trip Advisor and it was near the interstate. The room was in the back, did have easy access from parking. It seemed strange that the room next to us and the one directly across the hall from us, both had bar-b-q grills outside their rooms. I assume these are permanently rented by the occupants, though we did not ask. This was high cost for an average room, nothing special. They have no free internet - who does that anymore? They nickel and dime you for everything. The toilet in our room, did not flush properly and you had to hold down the lever to make it work. The ceiling fan was attached to the wrong light fixture. Instead of being with the ceiling light, the fan worked with the vanity light, above the mirror and made a terrible racket. They have a beer bottle opener, on the door jam, as you enter the bathroom (haven't seen those in years anymore!). It is placed, just where you would put your hand, around the wall, in the dark, to find the light switch. When I went to enter the room, in the night, I rammed my fingers, into and under that bottle opener and really hurt and skinned my fingers.. The complimentary breakfast was very lacking. They were understaffed. Tables were not bussed and dirty. They had good selections but everything was cold - cold eggs, cold sausage links, cold sausage & gravy. The toaster didn't work. It took forever, your bread didn't toast even after being put down twice. Orange juice was watered down. We had dinner at an attached Bennigans and that was a bad experience also. See my review of that! There are other places in Clear Lake. Seek them out and skip this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests, the type of service we pride ourselves in.

I have investigated your comments and do not see where we charged you for the FREE internet. If you have a folio that shows different please let me know by contacting me.

We do have guest that have been staying with us for months due to a housing shortage for rental properties and have okayed for them to use grills outside their rooms.

Sincerely,

Lori Faught
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
25
29
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emmetsburg, Iowa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My experience with this hotel was wonderful from the minute i walked in the door! Staff was very pleasant at the desk. I had booked a king room, and was suprised to be informed that i had been upgraded to a king suite! After a horrible week of dealing with a family crisis, this was absolutly the crowning moment. Room was spotless. Bed was comfortable. All in all just a wonderful place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to everyone! Thank You Best Western!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

An acceptable hotel. It was clean and staff was pleasant. Internet access in the business center was very poor. Hot breakfast bar, if you don't mind egg disks and salt biscuits. Yogurt and fruit also available. If you're looking for a convenient location on your way to Mpls/St. Paul, this is not a bad place to spend a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

When I arrived, I had just had a day filled with terrible customer service experiences. I was road weary and was not expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised by a very helpful front desk clerk whose cheery manner brightened my day. A few moments later, I ordered room service and was met with great customer service in the happy voice at the other end of the phone. When the meal arrived (quickly, I might add) the young lady was bubbly and seemed to really care that I had everything I needed to enjoy the meal. I was impressed!

The bed was so comfortable that my bad day turned into a great evening. This was a nice, comfortable, friendly place to stay and I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here three nights starting June 9, 2012, and the place is outstanding! Our room on the fifth floor was very clean, the queen bed comfortable, quiet, and well serviced by the cleaning personnel, but lacked a fridge and microwave which was not a big deal. Desk clerks were friendly and efficient. Breakfasts were great with a variety of food. The indoor pool looked very nice and so did the hot tub but we didn’t use either. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

After many hours of driving through steady rain, I decided to stay at this Best Western. I called the 800# while on the road for a standard King Bed room. When I finally made it to the hotel, the lady at the Front Desk stated that she had not noticed my reservation and already rented my room type out! Fortunately, she was able to upgrade me to a King Suite!!! The suite seemed to have been a recent renovation. Everything was clean and fresh looking! Wi-fi worked well, too. It seem that there was 2 seperate Air/heat thermostats to the suite. The sitting-room temp control worked well. I was not able to figure out the temp control unit for the bedroom. Though the bedroom was cooler than I'd like, the comforter on the bed kept me warm!! Did not partake in the breakfast, so unable to comment about it. In the morning, the another woman working the Front Desk was able to give me good directions to the Buddy Holly Crash Site.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent two nights meeting with family and found the hotel adequate. The rooms are okay and bed was comfortable. We were a bit annoyed by fruit flies around the dining area and even the Bennigan's. The pool is large, new hot tub and large area surrounding pool. The young lady who cleaned our room was extremely pleasant and helpful. The computer area is now enclosed and has a printer, scanner, and is nice not being right in the lobby. All in all, it was a good place to stay and we had reasonable rates..would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge

Address: 2023 7th Avenue, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clear Lake
Clear Lake Best Western
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge Clear Lake, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.