We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable with a nice view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Inn - Clear Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clear Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Shore Inn - Clear Lake
Save
You added South Shore Inn - Clear Lake to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1603 South Shore Drive, Clear Lake, IA 50428-2720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable with a nice view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a double queen with a walkout balcony ( 2nd floor) The room wad average size, with a decent size mini frid with freezer. (I like to be sble to re-freeze the ice packs) Also has a small microwave. The balcony is small, has 2 chairs and faces the lake. Pretty. The patio bar and grill plays music and is a little loud, it was pretty crowded. We were there on a weeknight, and I think they closed @ 9 pm? The fan in the room drowned out the noise and it was no problem. The food was good. :) The bathroom is a little small but adequate with a large mirror, exhaust fan, and very good water pressure. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. Overall, nice. Typical breakfast, but no place to sit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
14
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The South Shore Inn in Clear Lake was a wonderful place to stay on our weekend away from the kids! The view from the back of the hotel was incredible, and the bar and grill had excellent food and a great design. The hotel staff were very welcoming and knowledgeable, and our room was clean and welcoming. We are looking forward to coming back and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The live music and bar are so loud, if you have children or would just like a good nights sleep you're out of luck. There were large crowds all hours of the night and we heard fighting outside our window, didn't feel safe. The bar blocks the view of the lake, the whole experience was terrible. Our experience was much better last summer when it was the Heartland Inn. It didn't have all the updates but we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at South Shore Inn - Clear Lake, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We take it very seriously that you 'did not feel safe' and really wish this would have been brought to our attention while you were staying at the hotel, so we could properly remedy the situation. Please direct message me and I would like to make the situation right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I should have known by all the signs pointing to the bar that is main focus of money-making in this establishment. I understand the hotel to have been recently renovated, however the lack of screens on the windows (and air conditioning) of the second-floor hallways, as well as the dim lighting and rank fragrance gave this establishment the feeling of an inner-city public housing project. While the bathroom seemed to have a few new fixtures and a coat of fresh paint, there were no towel bars. The Sunbeam bracket for an iron was empty. Almost like they ran out of money before the job was done!

Yes the view is beautiful, and yes South Shore Inn is apparently the only hotel on Clear Lake. This surely explains the $119 (not including tax) a night price tag, which I would gladly pay for a quality place to stay. The following story is the clincher: Friday night is live music night at the South Shore Inn. The 'bar' area actually encompasses the patios of the rooms on the ground floor, so if you aren't into joining in on the party, you're just SOL. Suffice it to say the four hour sing-along of tunes by Styx and REO Speedwagon was "enjoyed" by all the guests at the hotel, not just the drunken revelers in the bar/patio area.

Also the lead photo TripAdvisor is using to advertise this property is fallacious: there is no indoor pool on the premises.

Room Tip: As far from the bar as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Manager at South Shore Inn - Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I'm sorry your stay at the South Shore Inn did not meet your satisfaction. I can assure you that all rooms in the hotel have been fully renovated within the last year. We apologize that you didn't have an iron in your room and thank you for bringing that to our attention.

You are correct, the hallways are not air conditioned. That hasn't been a problem in the past, but it has been an incredibly hot summer.

The picture of the pool on our page was posted by a past traveler. We've reported this issue to TripAdvisor and hope to have it resolved shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Loved the location on the lake. Met the owners who took us out on a pontoon ride around the lake. The receptionist helped us with all the activities we wanted to do. Booked rooms for next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at South Shore Inn - Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We look forward to seeing you again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here in July 2012. The property was recently re-modeled by new owners. It is located directly on the lake with great sunset views. Our party had three rooms and everyone was very satisfied with the accommodations. The rooms are clean, beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked really well in my room. My room also had an enormous jetted tub, but I didn't use it.
There is a simple continental breakfast available in the very small lobby, but no seating. There is a lakeside restaurant called The Landing on one corner of the property that is open for lunch and dinner serving appetizers, salads and sandwiches. This is really nice because there doesn't seem to be many places to eat or drink that have a view of the lake.
The friendly owners and staff deserve a mention. They accommodated all requests quickly and cheerfully and really seemed to care that we were happy with our stay. I plan to return next summer.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at South Shore Inn - Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for the very nice review. We look forward to seeing you again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just returned from staying in the South Shore Inn and I would highly recommend it. After we checked in and walked into our room, we were immediately drawn to the wonderful view of the lake. The rooms looked like they had just been updated and were large, nice, and clean. The owners and staff were a group of classy individuals. They were gracious hosts and treated us like old friends -- loved it. Staff recommended great places to shop, explore, and eat; they know their community well. Our group of 12 girls booked for next year before we left, but I hope to return before that with my husband and maybe all the kids. Sitting and enjoying refreshing drinks at the restaurant/bar area while having that great view of the lake was awesome. In the early evening, we even took a pontoon ride around the lake; that was the icing on the cake. I would highly recommend this Inn if you enjoy being right on the lake and like a friendly environment!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level had patio areas with tables and chairs. The upstairs rooms had small d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Shore Inn - Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Inn - Clear Lake

Address: 1603 South Shore Drive, Clear Lake, IA 50428-2720
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Shore Inn - Clear Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Shore Inn is the only hotel located on the shores of Clear Lake, Iowa. All rooms are lakefront with perfect views of Clear Lake. Complimentary breakfast and WiFi are standard with every room.A full service restaurant, The Landing, was added to the South Shore Inn in May 2012. The Landing offers a large lake front bar and grille, with perfect views of Clear Lake, Iowa. We have a large dock where you can conveniently tie up your boat during the day or evening to stop by for food or drinks. The Landing is located at 1603 South Shore Dr, attached to the lakeside of the South Shore Inn. Stop by for great food, unique drinks and an unbeatable atmosphere! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Shore Inn - Clear Lake Hotel Clear Lake
Heartland Hotel Clear Lake
South Shore Inn - Clear Lake Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Inn - Clear Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.