We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly With Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clear Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Motel
10 Allens Alley, Clear Lake, IA 50428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Clear Lake
Marion
2 reviews
“Family Friendly With Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hilltop Motel is one of the gems of Clear Lake. Lots for the kids to do while the parents relax. Nice pool, hot tub, game room and lawn games - something for everyone. There are grills and picnic tables and even an oven under a large covered patio. Terri and Jay (the owners and hosts) make everyone feel like royalty. They are genuinely great people who strive to ensure your stay is nothing short of wonderful. Get away from the chain/cookie cutter hotels and stay in this great, old-fashioned slice of heaven.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a hidden gem, right out in the open. Two blocks from the lake, it is right next to all the action. They have everything you could want here. Awesome back porch with grills and all the utensils you would need with tables to eat at while the kids play in the pool. The rooms are outfitted with fridges and microwaves and there is a DVD library to watch movies in your room. The service beats it all with kind and attentive owners. This is our second stay, and won't be our last. My only hang up is the small shower stall. 15 minutes of my day compared to the rest of the 23 hours and 45 minutes aren't going to bring me down!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peosta, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have been going to the Hilltop for a few years now and we absolutely love it! The atmosphere is great and you couldn't ask for better hosts...they always make us feel like VIP's! My kids love the pool & hot tub and we love sitting around the patio enjoying a cold beverage. There is no better place to relax!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family has been guests of the Hilltop in Clear Lake Iowa since 1975! We typically have 11 rooms each year at the Hilltop with about 30 guests. The Hilltop is one of those magical places that you cannot believe it until you see it and stay there. The Hilltop is located on North Shore. Very close to restaurants, lounges, the town square, shops and of course the beautiful lake. The Surf Ballroom is half block away. I always look forward to my trip to the Hilltop each year since I can totally relax there. Jay & Teri Latimer are wonderful hosts and we enjoy "catching up" after a long Iowa winter. They are like family to us. Eat, drink and be merry. Thank you Hilltop, Jay and Teri for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own theme!! If you like beer, there is a beer themed room. If you like rock a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stay at the Hilltop twice a year; one for a family event for up to 5 days and the other for a long weekend. Terri and Jay are always very accommodating to my needs and treat you like you are the VIP guest. They interact with the guests and work hard to make sure you are relaxed and enjoying your time at the Hilltop. Each room is uniquely decorated, the pool and pool area is always very clean and inviting. They offer games and movies for guests to use, and they welcome all guests to use the patio, that includes an ice machine, popcorn, microwave and grills. It's a great place to organize your family reunion. I have recommended the Hilltop to many of my friends and have found that when they experience it once, they make reservations on their way out to come back again, soon.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - try a new one at each visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Hilltop is fantastic, and what makes it so great are the wonderful people that run it. The service and respect you get makes you really feel at home. It is very peaceful, no matter what you want to do. Hang out by the pool, BBQ on the patio, sit in the hot tub, or play a game of bean bag toss. No place better to relax and enjoy some time away from home, with a home town feel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

we have gone every summer for the last couple years and have had the best of times. The kids love to swim, it is a nice family atmosphere, and Jay and Terri are wonderful hosts. It is so nice and relaxing and close to places. The rooms are awesome with different themes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Motel

Address: 10 Allens Alley, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Ownership since 2007. Family owned, operated and orientated. Some rooms with kitchenettes, outdoor grills, outdoor pool and hot-tub,games, DVD library. We are the number one place in area to host your next family reunion - stop in at take a look around. The rooms are all theme decorated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilltop Motel Clear Lake, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilltop Motel to your Saves list