We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Newer Sleep Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
1416 South Grand Avenue, Charles City, IA 50616   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Charles City
perry, ia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very Nice Newer Sleep Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Needed a quick good place to stay while working in Charles City, IA and was impressed with Sleep Inn. Newer hotel with nice big rooms and lots of extras like fridge, microwave and flat screen tv's. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good with some hot choices as well as cold. Pool was fine but a little cold and no hot tub. If in Charles City again I will know where to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsens, Denmark
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed there one night before making an audit at a suppliers facility. The hotel is a bit outside the city centre of Charles City, which means if you're without a car, you have quite a bit to walk to anything. If you're missing something, there's both a K-mart and a Fareway close by - Fareway has actually a very nice selection of goods and fresh produce. If you're walking, beware of the traffic, as pedestrians are a rare breed there.
The hotel is actually quite fine, with very clean rooms and fine breakfast. the first room I got was on the ground floor and with a door to the adjacent room. Unfortunately this room was used as a meeting room by some other guests, which also had the habit of constantly running to and fro so i felt like watch a cartoon where Elmer Fudd is chasing Bugs Bunny in the haunted house.
As I had some work to do, this was not acceptable and when notifying the fornt desk on the situation, I was promptly given a suite on the first floor, which was nice and quiet - kudos for that!
There is no such thing as room with a view, as this is on the outskirts of the town, and all you can see is the road, a parking lot, and a nearby gas station.
I think the place is value for money, but when you come without a car (most likely I'm the only one doing this, as I normally do not drive around, when doing audits) it's rather off the beaten track.
Provided I come back in a few years, this is a place I would be likely to use again.

Room Tip: Go for a suite and avoid rooms with an interconnecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was clean and the hot breakfast provided was good.

My only complaint was the staff. I had a question and there wasn't any staff around at the front desk and when I finally made eye contact with one he ignored me and carried on smoking out front of the hotel and his chat on the cell phone.

I'll just chalk it down as perhaps they aren't used to serving persons of other ethnic background and the lack of hospitality training.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

When my family informed us we would be having a reunion in Charles City, Iowa, I was thinking this could be dismal. I was pleasantly surprised with the Sleep Inn.

In addition to being spotless, the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was amazing - friendly, efficient and professional - particularly impressive given our family reunion and a wedding going on at the same time.

Bottomline: A great value and makes for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I stated at the Sleep Inn & Suites in Charles City, Iowa for 6 nights in late June and early July.

I was a bit disappointed that with that long of a stay they didn’t give us one of their suites. They did offer to move us after a day or so but at that point we had already settled in and didn’t want to move.

The room was adequate size. The bed was very comfortable. It was quite hot and humid during our stay and the air conditioner did a great job of keeping our room comfortable. It was also quiet.

The morning breakfast was fairly standard for a place in this budget range. Every morning there was some kind of pre-cooked egg dish, make your own waffles, pastries and bread, a limited offering of fresh fruit, boiled eggs, coffee and juice. It got monotonous after a few days but was convenient.

Don’t worry about a room with a view because there isn’t one. It’s on the edge of town with nothing much to see in any direction other than a car lot and a K-Mart. There is a nice convenience store and gas station right next to it that had a surprisingly good selection of food, drinks and sundries.

Next time we go to Charles City we’ll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Both of our keys needed to be re-programmed the second day, while we had hot food getting cold. Had to wait for a long time for the front desk to finish chatting with the folks ahead of me before I could get my card re-burned and get into my room. Several of the people in our work group had the same problem over 2 days. The clerks are told to tell everybody that it must be their cell phones (which is complete bull - google it), but neither of ours were near our phones, or any possible magnetic field. We travel alot, and stay in Comfort Inn-Best Western-Super 8-LaQuinta-Sleep Inn - type places. Very, VERY rarely does a key card not work, and it happened to just about everyone at this place, with the same lame excuse each time. I'm sure that's the norm here. What is probably actually the problem is their programmer and/or cards, but they won't admit it.

Such a pain for guests, and I should have called or emailed the manager, but I see this has been happening here for awhile, so they probably don't give a rip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

One night stay. The room was very large, the large tv stand held a 32 inch flat screen tv and a hidden fridge. Lots of room to throw your keys, purse etc. King size bed was comfy, pillows were lumpy though. The bathroom was awesome, LARGE counter area to put all of your toiletries and still have space left over! Plenty of hot water for the shower. Free breakfast had lots of choices, waffles, biscuits and gravy, the standard bagels/eng muff/muffins etc. was very good. Free wireless did not work, the server was not working but we did not care since we were just there for one night. Friendly staff at front desk. Would stay again. FYI - get the $1.00 charge for the safe removed :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Address: 1416 South Grand Avenue, Charles City, IA 50616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Charles City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Charles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites Charles City, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.