We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1416 South Grand Avenue, Charles City, IA 50616   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charles City
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

One night stay. The room was very large, the large tv stand held a 32 inch flat screen tv and a hidden fridge. Lots of room to throw your keys, purse etc. King size bed was comfy, pillows were lumpy though. The bathroom was awesome, LARGE counter area to put all of your toiletries and still have space left over! Plenty of hot water for the shower. Free breakfast had lots of choices, waffles, biscuits and gravy, the standard bagels/eng muff/muffins etc. was very good. Free wireless did not work, the server was not working but we did not care since we were just there for one night. Friendly staff at front desk. Would stay again. FYI - get the $1.00 charge for the safe removed :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
des moines iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

i got upgraded to a suite and it was a very nice, spacious room. it was all good, check in to check out

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Prairie, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were driving from Cedar Rapids to ... what was supposed to be western Minnesota, when some bad weather caused us to get off of the highway sooner than planned. We stayed at the Sleep Inn and were very, very pleasantly surprised. Courteous, helpful staff; very comfortable room and very comfortable bed; great shower. And, the breakfast had more options than expected. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We arrived at the Sleep Inn and waited for 10 minutes to be checked-in. The two front desk clerks was busy talking to each other looking for something. They finally checked us in after 10 minutes. That night, we quickly discovered the walls are super thin. We can hear the next room's conversations, their TV on and people walking upstairs over us. To top it off, their was kids running up and down the hallway to the pool with no adult supervision. I did not get any SLEEP at the Sleep Inn. This place has poor customer service and thin walls. I will not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charles City hotels

HONESDALE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

we stopped in Charles City on our way to The Black Hills for a break along the way. The hotel had a nice appearance. The check in was very easy as we are Choice Privileges members. The room was attractive with a king size bed. The TV had a wide range of channels with HBO. The breakfast was fine with a choice waffles,cereal,biscuits and gravy. The front desk person was helpful in directing us toa good restaurant in town. We were very pleased nd would stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I really liked this hotel and will be back next year. The front desk was helpful getting us rooms with fridges and microwaves in them. Rooms were clean and had a wide selecton of channels. The A/C worked awesome in all the rooms we had while staying there. Breakfast was the usual with biscuits and gravy. Only thing I did not like about this place was they had to take the safe fee (1.00/day) off every week when we checked out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were there for four days over the 4th of July. We used the hotel for a family reunion so we were there most of the day as well as over night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. The hospitality room we used for the event was great. The hotel was clean and orderly. The continental breakfast had a large selection.

Because we have four children, we stayed in a suite. I have no complaints about the room--no offending odors, everything worked as it should, bathroom was clean, etc.... It was spacious enough for us. They even provided a port-a-crib for our youngest. A nice little detail was the night-light provided for our bathroom. Overall, I had a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Address: 1416 South Grand Avenue, Charles City, IA 50616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Charles City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites Charles City, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.