We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 33rd Avenue, SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very clean, super friendly staff. Older hotel but seems well maintained. Bar relaxing, pizza very good. Comfortable room with powerful a/c unit. Really good breakfast in nice dining room. Wifi worked great. Wonderful deal for the price :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    16
    18
    17
See reviews for
25
23
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is not as nice as it used to be...however, breakfast was hot and fresh and staff was friendly. Our room was clean and there were cookies waiting in the lobby when we got there. The staff was friendly. We left something in our hotel room and one of the housekeepers ran out into the parking lot to catch us before we left and return our item. Close to the interstate. I recommend booking on a budget/deal site.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were in town for a wedding and there was a block for rooms reserved here. We basically only slept here and found it to be adequate. We did not eat here or use any amenities. I felt I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I wish I would have believed the horrible reviews of this place. Right when you walk in the smell of cigarettes and filth hit you. Does not give a good first impression. It claims to be "updated". Buying new lamps and artwork is not updated. The rooms was not like the pics on the website. The restraint advertises they serve dinner but we were informed they stop serving food at 6pm!!! Probably should update their website. The pool was closed due to a glass being dropped in the pool the day before. The kitchen flooded so no hot breakfast. Those two things aren't their fault. I will say the beds were comfortable. Overall I did not like this hotel. It's outdated and smells bad.

Room Tip: Avoid this place. There are better places nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility on TripAdvisor. The Clarion Hotel appreciates feedback in all forms to ensure we are offering our guests superior customer service and accommodations. I would like to apologize for the cigarette odor you encountered upon arrival, the hotel went 100% non smoking one year ago, however we are finding that many of our guest smoke under the cover of our awning and are working on a solution to this. I will also personally look through our website to ensure that all the information being advertised in current and accurate information. Thank you for your feedback your satisfaction is important to us and will use your comments to improve. We hope you will consider staying with the Clarion Hotel in Cedar Rapids again during future visits.

Thank you.

Chip Fritsch
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst stay at a hotel that I've ever had. Rooms and halls smell like old cigarettes, DO NOT EAT HERE, food is beyond terrible. We rented an event room for a birthday party and the food is nearly inedible. We asked the manager to do something about the awful food and the best they could do was say sorry. Unacceptable customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Clarke,
I am very sorry about the recent troubles you had while staying at the Clarion Hotel in Cedar Rapids. It is the goal of this hotel to ensure we provide an enjoyable and superior experience for all of our guests. During your stay, the hotel made every effort to accommodate your needs, including taking care of your room bill. Upon informing the hotel of the odor in your room, the front desk and housekeeping arranged to have you moved to new rooms, to your satisfaction. When you approached the front desk at approximately nine PM, three hours after the end of your dinner, you informed us of your dissatisfaction with the pulled pork sandwich, which we sincerely apologized for. We asked if you had notified your server during the meal, so we could prepare another meal option more to your liking, you stated you had not. We offered to prepare a new meal for you on the house at the time of complaint, which you declined. You asked the hotel to take care of your room bill due to your displeasure with the sandwich, to which we happily obliged. Again, I sincerely apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. After we have made every effort to correct the issues for you, and you have accepted compensation for the two guest rooms, I am sorry you are still displeased.
The hotel made a point to connect with as many patrons of the party as possible upon check out and have followed up with the event planner. We feared the worst, but we received nothing but positive feedback and praise regarding the afternoon reception and dinner service.

Best Regards,

Chip Fritsch
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is REALLY old. The water pressure was horrible and there was something goofy with the cold water tap. It operated backwards like the wrong fitting had been installed.

The people were nice but the building is showing it's age.

I wont' stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

on 3-8 14 was put up at this hotel by Allegiant Airlines as they had cancelled our flight to Phoenix. The lobby area was nice and the check in staff very efficient. Upon arriving in our room the first thing I noticed were the glasses in the bathroom, they were dirty. It appeared that a rag had been used to wipe the glasses. The next thing was mold in the shower and on the window ledge and the floor had some bits of paper along the bed frame and behind the night stand. The next morning, Sunday, we went down to get continental breakfast at 940am and was advised that it was over at 930am. We then waited till 10am to eat in their to have the buffet in their dining room. The food was OK but not worth the $14.00. The biscuits were raw in the middle, the sausage gravy was very loose. You could order omelets and they were good. The food was not very hot and we were there 5 minutes after they opened. Upon checking out I presented one of the dirty glasses to the check out person who upon seeing it immediately called for the head of housekeeping. This person did not seem overly concerned with our concerns. We will not stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: Do not choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 525 33rd Avenue, SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Hotel & Convention Center. Our hospitable Cedar Rapids hotel which is only 17 miles north of Coralville/Iowa City Exit, delivers spacious guestrooms and suites, attentive service, and many premium amenities to business travelers, family vacationers, and couples in search of a romantic getaway. A top-notch location puts shopping, dining, and entertainment options just a short drive away. Plus, we’re the closest full-service hotel to Eastern Iowa Airport (6 miles). One of the best features we offer our guests is the area's only full service hotel's Complimentary Hot Deluxe Breakfast which is prepared fresh daily by our Chef. Individuals or groups won't be forced to eat in a lobby, but rather they can relax in our restaurant which seats over 96 people, has flat screen TV and access to wireless. We are unique in that our facility offers a wide variety of recreational activities. Newly remodeled full service Synergy Restaurant & the 33rd Ave. Sports Bar & Grill are on site and open 7 days per week. We offer one of the area's largest swimming pool areas, with hot tub, and sauna. Our newly renovated Exercise room features all the newest equipment. Our 24 hour Business Center is enclosed for privacy and offers one of the area's only Blackberry Printing Stations for our guests. Our King Business & Queen Business rooms feature microwave/refrigerator, flat screen TV with premium channels including HBO,CNN, ESPN, Big Ten, & Fox News. There is also an in-room safe, lounge chair, and complimentary hi-speed internet (both wireless & wired) in the room. FEMA approved. Federal Government Rates Available. Group Rates available. Large Banquet/Convention space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cedar Rapids
Clarion Hotel Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.