We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a $100 per night hotel............” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 33rd Avenue, SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“NOT a $100 per night hotel............”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is REALLY old. The water pressure was horrible and there was something goofy with the cold water tap. It operated backwards like the wrong fitting had been installed.

The people were nice but the building is showing it's age.

I wont' stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    16
    18
    17
See reviews for
25
23
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

on 3-8 14 was put up at this hotel by Allegiant Airlines as they had cancelled our flight to Phoenix. The lobby area was nice and the check in staff very efficient. Upon arriving in our room the first thing I noticed were the glasses in the bathroom, they were dirty. It appeared that a rag had been used to wipe the glasses. The next thing was mold in the shower and on the window ledge and the floor had some bits of paper along the bed frame and behind the night stand. The next morning, Sunday, we went down to get continental breakfast at 940am and was advised that it was over at 930am. We then waited till 10am to eat in their to have the buffet in their dining room. The food was OK but not worth the $14.00. The biscuits were raw in the middle, the sausage gravy was very loose. You could order omelets and they were good. The food was not very hot and we were there 5 minutes after they opened. Upon checking out I presented one of the dirty glasses to the check out person who upon seeing it immediately called for the head of housekeeping. This person did not seem overly concerned with our concerns. We will not stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: Do not choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It was absolutely clear that the hotel was renovated recently and was very nice. Great atmosphere, clean rooms, etc. Shower had some water temperature issues and it was kinda slippery in the shower due to lack of traction stuff on bottom of tub, but overall was a great visit! Awesome staff at checkout desk as well ;)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear AndreaPost,

Thank you for your recent online review. I am glad that you appreciate our recent renovation, pleasant atmosphere and clean rooms. Thank you for your feedback regarding the shower. We are always working to improve our hotel and the experiences of our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you,

Chip Fritsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here in January of 2013 and it was just average. It was safe and clean but clearly dated. We were back in the Cedar Rapids area last week and I was a little worried to book this hotel again, but it offered everything we wanted so I booked it anyway. Walking into the hotel, I felt as if I had never been there before. The entire hotel, Lobby, Pool, Bar, Restaurant, and most importantly rooms were 200% improved!!! It felt like a whole different hotel that I had never been too! We will for sure be back again with no worry!! Completely satisfied!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear SAW1031

I am thrilled to hear about your recent experience at our facility this past week. The staff at the Clarion in Cedar Rapids has worked very hard over the last eight months to transform our facility to what it is now, it is very rewarding to hear your positive comments about the renovation’s and improvements made. If there is anything the staff of the Clarion Hotel in Cedar Rapids can do to make your next stay with us even better please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Chip Fritsch
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was impressed with the Clarion Hotel the moment I walked through the doors and entered the spacious lobby. Nothing like most hotels in this price range. It was especially nice having the lemon-aid dispenser. On the desk was a basket of fresh fruit available to guests. The girl who checked us in was very friendly and thorough, pointing out all the features of the hotel and reminding us of the complimentary breakfast.
The room was clean and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. I was able to use the business center and print a map of where we had to go the next day. We did not use the pool, so I can't comment on that.
The complimentary breakfast was one of the finest I have ever had in any hotel. Hot eggs, hash browns, bacon, sausage, waffles, and, best of all, cooked to order omelets! It was also in a regular restaurant area, instead of just a corner of the lobby.
There was one issue. A kids football team was staying right above us, and they got to running back and forth, which made quite a racket through our ceiling. One word to the front desk and the activity was immediately stopped.
I would definitely recommend the Cedar Rapids Clarion, and when I return to the Cedar Rapids area next spring, I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Cal T,
We are thrilled by your wonderful review of the Clarion Hotel Cedar Rapids. It was our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I am glad you enjoyed the lemonade and fresh fruit in the lobby, business center, renovated rooms, and new mattresses. We are so please to be ranked one of the finest complimentary hotel breakfasts you’ve ever had, that’s what we’re going for. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip in the spring.

Warm Regards,
Chip Fritsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked a room, but plans change. After several calls we could not cancel our reservations even though they were more than 24 hours in advance. They have our credit card, and we are at their mercy. I hope their next guest enjoys their stay. We decided to stay at their hotel anyway.

Room Tip: Hampton in has nice hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JayS,
Thank you for your online review. I apologize that you experienced some trouble in your attempts to cancel your reservation. If you send me an email with your stay information I will be happy to look into the matter further and see if there is a possible resolution. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience incurred, and hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable. I hope you appreciated the recent renovations and the complimentary hot breakfast buffet. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay better, please let us know.

Sincerely,
Chip Fritsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

great place to relax .good clean rooms. good food cheap drinks for a convention hotel .. will be back again.. good hot breakfast at no charge... newly renovated hotel,rooms still are being updated,my room needed updating could see the smoke stains on the walls..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mike G,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant and bar during your stay. Our chefs continue to provide delicious fare and we are especially proud of our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, which includes made-to-order omelettes. We have just finished renovating the hotel. I’m sorry your room was not finished at the time of your stay, but I am confident you will appreciate all aspects of the renovated rooms on your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Until Then,
Chip Fritsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 525 33rd Avenue, SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Hotel & Convention Center. Our hospitable Cedar Rapids hotel which is only 17 miles north of Coralville/Iowa City Exit, delivers spacious guestrooms and suites, attentive service, and many premium amenities to business travelers, family vacationers, and couples in search of a romantic getaway. A top-notch location puts shopping, dining, and entertainment options just a short drive away. Plus, we’re the closest full-service hotel to Eastern Iowa Airport (6 miles). One of the best features we offer our guests is the area's only full service hotel's Complimentary Hot Deluxe Breakfast which is prepared fresh daily by our Chef. Individuals or groups won't be forced to eat in a lobby, but rather they can relax in our restaurant which seats over 96 people, has flat screen TV and access to wireless. We are unique in that our facility offers a wide variety of recreational activities. Newly remodeled full service Synergy Restaurant & the 33rd Ave. Sports Bar & Grill are on site and open 7 days per week. We offer one of the area's largest swimming pool areas, with hot tub, and sauna. Our newly renovated Exercise room features all the newest equipment. Our 24 hour Business Center is enclosed for privacy and offers one of the area's only Blackberry Printing Stations for our guests. Our King Business & Queen Business rooms feature microwave/refrigerator, flat screen TV with premium channels including HBO,CNN, ESPN, Big Ten, & Fox News. There is also an in-room safe, lounge chair, and complimentary hi-speed internet (both wireless & wired) in the room. FEMA approved. Federal Government Rates Available. Group Rates available. Large Banquet/Convention space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cedar Rapids
Clarion Hotel Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.