We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vino's Restonante & R.G. Books Lounge

Vino's Restonante & R.G. Books Lounge
3611 1st ave SE, Town & Country Shopping Center, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
319 363-7550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 316 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: R.G. Books is a Wine and Martini Bar that is connected to Vino's Ristorante. Both areas serve the same menus in a nice comfortable seating.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had heard this was a great restaurant in Cedar Rapids. I am a frequent business traveler to this area. I dined at Vino's alone. The host who seated me was very rude, he began to seat me, and then turned around and answered the phone. Ordinarily, this wouldn't bother me, but he barely spoke to me at all. My server was no better. I asked for recommendations, and he told me to look at the menu. I had already looked at the menu online. My food was good, and very hot, as another reviewer mentioned. I would prefer to patronize independent restaurants and not so many chains, however, Vino's doesn't seem to want my business.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in CR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We love Vino's! Started off as just a "special occassion" restaurant but my husband and I have made Vino's and RG Books a regular stop. As another reviewer said, there aren't enough places like this in CR. Great atmosphere, fun staff, and great food. What more could you ask for?!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nicest restaurant experience in Cedar Rapids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Loved the atmosphere. Great Italian dishes. Wait Staff very helpful in describing selections. Library lounge and formal restaurant seating each have own personality.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This restaurant has poor service as well as overpriced and marginal food. Extremely disappointed after reading the great reviews. Snobbish, inattentive servers meander through the small restaurant with the appearance of taking care of their customers. While in reality, they take care of one thing at a time, at a snail's pace, and cannot keep track if multiple orders for a group. Food is hot, but that's the best thing that can be said for it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good italian restaurant in the Cedar Rapids area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I went to Vino's Restonante solo on February 20 2012. Note that the adress is incorrect on TripAdvisor. It is 3611 1st Ave SE, Town and Country Shopping Center, Cedar Rapids, IA 52403.

The location is not especially appealing (a shopping mall) and the restaurant is windowless. Inside, the restaurant is cosy and clean. It could be romantic but tables are close to each others and some loud groups (people visiting on business for example) might be attending.

Service is good but does not go any extra mile.

I had the Fettuccine Alfredo, with Chicken. As I did not want any salad with it, the waiter suggested me a French onion soup. I assumed it was as a free replacement, but no, it cost an extra 2 dollars. The soup was good. The pastas were also good and well cooked. The "parmesan" the waiter put on top of it does not seem to be parmesan.
Overall, the meal, quality and quantity, was a little heavy. You leave filled up but with no impression of having had a great meal.

Conclusion: A good restaurant but not as extraordinary as some other reviews say.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino's Restonante & R.G. Books Lounge also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Been to Vino's Restonante & R.G. Books Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vino's Restonante & R.G. Books Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.