We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic place in CR” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Wienie

Flying Wienie
103 8th Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-2136
319-861-3036
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 316 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eclectic place in CR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you're looking for a "dog" place in CR, go the the Wienie. You'll find the dogs you can't get anywhere else in CR, at least that I know of. When guests are in town with kids, we always take them to the Wienie. Small and eclectic place - a former gas station, turned into a cool, casual place to have a dog or brat. Glad to see it survived the Flood of 2008. To those who say it needs a good cleaning, it's really just a bit dated, but that's what adds to the charm. Every time we've been there, it's been clean. Recommend it when you want to go have a good dog.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotdogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hot dogs are good but nothing special. The place is a bit of a dump and could use a good cleaning. It is a Cedar Rapids landmark. They do offer other items besides hotdogs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

You want a low key lunch spot in cedar rapids - ? this is it. Leave the suit and tie in the car and come enjoy the Brats or doors. I've tried the Italian beef, but I have to say the Brats or sausage are still my choices.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“cute but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food is good but the food is a bit pricey. Its a fun place to eat! They have daily specials but they are still expensive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Taveling salesman's thoughts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I'm from Chicago. Please don't compare this to a hotdog stand from Chicago.
My dogs came on a soft popy seed bun but was oversized and everything inside the bun became lost in the taste. I asked for sports peppers and they placed one on the middle more for decoration as it was only one bite of the dog' s consumption. The had cut fries were soggy and my lunch for two dogs, order of fries and drink was almost $9.
I wouldn't come back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Wienie also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Been to Flying Wienie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Wienie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.