We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza Ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomaso's Pizza

Tomaso's Pizza
3234 Center Pt Rd, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402-4034
(319) 364-4313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 316 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Restaurant details
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I frequently go to the Tomaso's Pizza on Center Pt Rd. This is the one closer into town, not the one farther out, although that is great too.
It does not have ample seating, but that is the charm of the place so get there early to find a place to sit. The pizza is excellent. I like both the Detroit and the thin crust. It is more expensive than other pizza in town, but nice to splurge every once and awhile. The only down point is I leave smelling of grease on my clothes so never wear any of your favorite clothing. I guess the air filter system isn't the best. However, the pizza and service has always been good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lousy atmosphere;great pizza;occasional inattentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Because the pizza is among the best in town, the business is primarily take out and the absentee owner, service and cordial treatment by youthful staff is lacking. In spite of expense, week-end nights are a hassle,pizza often not ready when suggested, and dreary atmosphere, Tomaso's clearly beats out all chains and most independent pizzaria offerings in town. Detroit Mumbo combe is our favorite!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza, a bit of a wait this time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is my second time eating here. Last time we had the thin crust but this time I had the Detroit style pizza where they carmelize the crust a little around the edges. The pizza was fantastic. It is a bit pricey as others have pointed out. This time we had to wait much longer for our pizzas, but it was very busy. We bought two large pizzas and 4 drinks for about $50. To me it was totally worth it because it tastes great. It's not something I would do all the time because it is expensive. Also, if you are going on a weekend evening, you can probably call ahead to order your pizzas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DEElicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Always amazing, never skimpy on the toppings either which is the best part! Tomaso's is a family favorite and has been since it opened back in the 90's. When we want good pizza thats where we go!
I highly suggest the Detroit crust, thick with carmelized cheese around the edges mmmm!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good pizza, is expensive though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We always get the detroit style pizza with burned cheese around the edges, Yum! is more expensive , so we only do this a few times a year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomaso's Pizza also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Been to Tomaso's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomaso's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.