We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great when the pool heater is fixed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 First Avenue NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
North Liberty, United States
1 review
“Great when the pool heater is fixed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The remodel of this hotel is beautiful. It is not the easiest to get to from the parking garage and it would be even better if parking were redeemed and the pool heater was fixed, but all in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    98
    51
    23
    9
See reviews for
78
77
16
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had a New Years Party that we attended at the Double Tree. Upon arrival everything was great, check in went fast and Loved the warm cookie we received. Really enjoyed our stay we live in Cedar Rapids and was anxious to see the new hotel. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Had a a wonderful time at our party that was held in one of their banquet rooms. Food that was served was good and the service was good as well. We feel that the Double Tree will be a great asset to Cedar Rapids

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is recently remodeled and looks nice. I had problems with the pool. The water's too cold. And, there are no steps into the pool and we both have knee problems that made it difficult/impossible to get into the water. We even tried to use the handicapped chair that swings over the pool, but couldn't get it to work; it wouldn't turn on and couldn't find any instructions. It's embarrassing to have to call a staff member to help you into the pool, and we didn't do it. I managed to get in the water but my partner didn't want to risk it. And the water was too cold to enjoy anyway. The other big problem was one of the parking people immediately told me I couldn't leave my car in front of the hotel for 20-30 minutes. This was on Xmas morning and the hotel was not crowded, there was plenty of room in front of the hotel, and we were trying to get our luggage downstairs to check out. And it was freezing cold with snow on the streets, and it's hard to walk over snow with bad knees. So, that wasn't very friendly or accommodating. It's Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Not everyone wants valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. I always have the best experience here. Rooms are quiet and clean; staff are friendly and helpful; location is excellent - right downtown; and the cookie & bottle water is a nice plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We drove 8 hours directions to hotel were good but there is no parking in front of hotel to check in..we parked illegally to find out where to park.... then it cost $12 a night to park in the ramp across the street or valet parking was $20.To get from the hotel to the ramp required going to a special elevator then going up and down to the correct floors--the hotel is new and quite nice rooms are nice and spacious... the lobby is a little sterile and looks like an enclosed area off the street just placed there with a desk and two people standing behind it... it is not very attractive even with the Christmas tree there. everythin is out in the open and not very warm feeling ---food is excellent but the parking is a mess.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

No one, but NO one at this joint has any answers. I kept getting transferred from one automated system to another just to have the question of "Are you having a Christmas lunch?" answered. One person actually asked-- when I contacted a person-- the date of Christmas!!! December 25, perhaps? Then I was told that they were having lunch "during regular hours..." and I was forced to ask WHEN their "regular hours" were.

Then I was transferred to catering... then I was transferred to a voice mail. Pure frustration.

I wouldn't complain if this hadn't happened before!!!

It's too much grief to even book a room at this overpriced "hotel." Truly, the left hand never knows what the right hand is doing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place is amazing. Everything all in one, hotel, arena, banquet facility. Staff is amazing. Gerrie along with the front desk staff (David, Chante, etc.) were terrific and always striving to make my stay even better. Shuttle driver Matt was great too. Food at banquet was probably the best I have had. People made this place the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex

Address: 350 First Avenue NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Cedar Rapids, Iowa, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex is connected to U.S. Cellular Arena and the new U.S. Cellular Convention Center. Perfect for business or leisure travelers, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool and modern 24-hour fitness center, along with over 80,000 sq ft of meeting and banquet space. Enjoy great location from our hotel near Kinnick Stadium, 30 minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.