We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place to Spend an Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CSPS

CSPS
1103 Third Street SE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
319 364 1580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 things to do in Cedar Rapids
Attraction details
Iowa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place to Spend an Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've been going to CSPS for years, and I have to say it just keeps getting better. Mel & John do a fantastic job of bringing entertainment variety to Cedar Rapids ... not to mention great beers and wines to enjoy before and during the show. The renovated space is is wonderful (I love the updated bathrooms and that I no longer a need to wear gloves during winter shows) ... we are so lucky to have a venue like this in Cedar Rapids.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have been to two performances at CSPS, one a play and one a musician. It is a wonderful place for both types of entertainment. The bar area is inviting and the theater area is great. I love the art displays.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quaint - surprisingly good acoustics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Best kept secret in CR! Very small and intimate venue that does not have a bad seat in the house. Bar available. Seen an absolutely awesome performance by Suzy Bogguss here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Eclectic Funky Shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pre flood this place was great. Post flood, it is amazing (super upgrade to the indoor space.) The shows nor the art disappoint. If you want to see great acts (theatre, music, vaudeville) on the cheap / reasonable in an intimate setting, this is the place. The addition of the Carlo Bar in the lounge area really ads to the scene. Thanks Mel & John!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An intimate and interesting concert venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been here many times (pre-flood and post-flood) and enjoyed some of our favorite folk musicians in a fine and intimate setting. There are also a great number of world musicians and other events. The price is always reasonable. It is also historic, being the old Czech social hall. There are beverages (including beer and wine) and snacks. The sound is great. After the post-flood remodeling the place is also comfortable with AC and heating. (But where did the cats go?) There are small art galleries as well. The neighborhood has also been rehabilitated with food and drinks nearby. A great place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CSPS also viewed

 

Been to CSPS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CSPS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.