We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great reviews are justified!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library

National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library
1400 Inspiration Place SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
319-362-8500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Cedar Rapids
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Expanded 50,000 sq. ft. building opened in July 2012 with a world-class exhibit "Alphonse Mucha: Inspirations of Art Nouveau" featuring 230 pieces direct from Prague and London. Two other galleries feature rotating exhibitions on the culture, art and history of Czechs and Slovaks. And don't miss the two-room 1880's Czech immigrant house that was home to five generations. See the new museum store filled with European treasures and gifts. Stroll down Czech Village and also visit the exhibition, "Rising Above: the Store of a People and the Flood" located a 87 Sixteenth Ave. SW
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The great reviews are justified!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is really well done. A lot of history and a chance to learn something about our Midwest history other than cowboys and Indians.

If you've got the time, plan on spending a few hours visiting the museum!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    23
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gem of a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The National Czech and Slovak Museum and Library is a gem of a small museum that explores the heritage/history of the Cedar Rapids population. We were there for a wedding and wandered through the museum. We will certainly return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting this wonderful museum last week. It is a beautiful museum with exhibits that give a great overview of Czechs in the area. This museum also has a wonderful library and archives full of historical books and artifacts. The staff and volunteers that I encountered were all helpful, professional & friendly. There is a very nice gift shop and a parking garage underneath the museum.

According to the film shown and those that I spoke to at the museum, the museum was completely under water during the flood here in 2008. There was great loss of many books and exhibits. The museum building was moved to higher ground and I think that story is amazing and I commend all who were involved!

I would recommend a visit to this museum, even if you do not share Czech & Slovak heritage, it is worth your time!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

If you have Eastern European ancestry, then you should definitely visit this interesting museum! My husband was able to look at the library records, and find out when his grandparents came to Ellis Island. The fascinating history of the countries is presented beautifully throughout the building. Make sure you look carefully at the intricate designs of all the hand-made costumes that are on display!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Masquerade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was here for a masquerade for a benefit. It was a really nice facility, and the underground parking was awesome because it was about -20F outside.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library also viewed

 

Been to National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.