We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3265 6th Street SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Crosby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Walked away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are Hilton Honors members and have enjoyed staying at Hampton Inns in the past. Traveling through Cedar Rapids, IA 3/31/13, we pulled up to stay at the Hampton Inn. The first thing I noticed was a very heavy odor of cleaning products. I asked the person on duty about a room for 2 and inquired about the price and any discounts. He quoted a price of $119. When I asked about retired military, he snidely repeated the $119 price (we have received military discounts at other Hampton Inns but he didn't even check). Because he was so rude and condescending, we left and stayed across the road at the Fairfield Marriot which was a very good place to stay with a very reasonable discounted price.

Room Tip: Since we ended up leaving, I couldn't rate the hotel. If you are treated rudely and don't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton I, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience an improved level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Carrie Ewart
General Manager
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    66
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
75
29
11
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, the hotel staff was very friendly & the complimentary breakfast was great! I will definitely stay there again if I return to Cedar Rapids, Iowa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I arrived to the Hotel sick with the flu, even had to go to the hospital during my stay. The staff took it upon themselves to make sure that I had fluids, food, and medication. (I'm sure that they didn't want me dying in a room..) They went to the store, the pharmacist, and then another store on different days to make sure that my recovery went well. They even insisted that I got into clean linens daily to get rid of germs. 1500 miles from home, alone, and with a serious flu. They saved me. I am in debited to this awesome staff. Thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel traveling through to Tennessee. It was located closeclose to the freeway. Nice rooms. Comfortable beds. The pool area was nice. Breakfast was ok, nothing to Brag about. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This HI is a great experience in every way with a very clean, fresh smelling room, freshly laundered duvet cover and sheets, great place to work, work out, play, friendly staff, reasonably priced except the bed was uncomfortable. Balance that feedback with the fact that I have back problems. Make up your own mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here with my two young children for a weekend getaway. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the beds were very comfortable, and my kids loved the pool. At breakfast my picky eaters had plenty to choose from. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: 1st floor is closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I enjoyed the freshness and cleanliness of the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a good night rest on any sort of travel. The staff was friendly and ready to help. At my next stay at a Hampton Inn, I will know the hotel has good quality.

Room Tip: I didn't make prearrangements for a room, but the room assigned to me on arrival had no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids

Address: 3265 6th Street SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#11 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids Hotel Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.