We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food with an ethnic flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Blue Toad - CLOSED

Al's Blue Toad
86 16th Avenue Southwest, Cedar Rapids, IA
319-265-8623
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Czech
Restaurant details
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“great food with an ethnic flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

we found this place, accidentally, because it was an usual name. A great Midwest feel with very pleasant staff. not your typical bar food, but very outstanding. menu is quite varied, and even serves Czech food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic, ethnic Bohemie food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

the rest of the food is run of the mill greasy bar food, but the czech menu is fantastic (and very generous!)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Czech village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very good menu with very reasonable prices and good service. Very convenient location, just down the street from the wonderful Czech-Slovak museum. A definite stop for a meal before or after visiting the museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerton, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“More than a mouthful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I were returning through Cedar Rapids as we typically do every other week. We try to find someplace new every time to sit down and sample some new menu. This time we decided on the Blue Toad. It was Sunday evening early, but they were more than willing to rustle up some very substantial, rib sticking, Czech cuisine. Mine was Goulash with dumplings and red cabbage. Honestly, my wife and I probably could have split it without any problem. I would recommend anyone in the neighborhood with a big appetite, stop by and give it a chance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very large servings & authentic Czech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had the mushroom tart, dumplings & red cabbage - it was enough to feed an army. Why do they serve so much for 1 person? it was good though

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Blue Toad also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Blue Toad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.