We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great night's sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 Park Place NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What a great night's sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Everything about this hotel is wonderful! It opened in August 2010, and they've done many things well here.

As a solo traveler, I booked a studio king suite. It was quite spacious.

The kitchen includes a full-sized refrigerator; a two burner, electric stove; a dishwasher; a microwave; and a sink -- and all the necessary plates, cups, silverware, cookware, and whatnot to make your food, if you're so inclined. A nice table with two chairs is adjacent to the kitchen.

The TV was gorgeous -- the usual flat screen, but with HD and digital. Stunning.

The king bed was heavenly. I got a great night's sleep. The pillows were just right, for a change. Most hotels get the cheapest pillows they can find, but not here. Thank you, Homewood!

The bathroom was very nice: a walk-in shower (no tub) that was roomy, and a great shower head that was plenty high. In fact, if you're short (I'm 5'10"), you might have trouble reaching the shower head to adjust it -- but usually it's the opposite, and the showed head is too low!

Breakfast was very nice, as well -- the "lodge" was spacious, and airy, and the offerings were great. The choices included wo different kinds of scrambled eggs, with hash browns and sausages available; three kinds of cereal, plus hot oatmeal; four kinds of coffee; OJ and two kinds of milk; plenty of choices in the "toast" department (bagel, muffin, toast, etc.). And it was all clean and well-tended.

I had a light out in my room, and the desk clerk was very helpful in both procuring a replacement and helping get it in -- the clearance wasn't very big, so it was trickier than you'd think!

The only difficulty I had was with the internet access. I tried both the wireless wi-fi and the wired access, and my gmail kept cutting out. Other web access didn't seem to be affected, so I can't tell you whether it was something specific with the hotel's ISP and Google, or not. It worked, it was just annoying to have it log me off at random intervals.

The only other odd thing was that the elevators were at the ends of the hallways, as far from the front desk as you could make them. If you had a room in the middle of the hotel on the upper floors, you would have had to walk to either end of the building, take the elevator (or stairs) up, then walk back to the middle to your room. My room was on the end; once I parked my car outside the nearby exit, it was quite convenient, but checking in at the end of a long day made for a tiring walk.

Still, those don't count against the stay, which was simply magnificent.

No, I don't work for Homewood, or Hilton. But I'm enthusiastic about this hotel. I highly recommend the Homewood Suites - Cedar Rapids North. I know that I'll be staying there the next time I'm in Cedar Rapids!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    46
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
119
34
8
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

... is how they market the place, and it is very comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is brand new and thus very clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious with a lounge separate from the bedroom and a small kitchen with a large fridge freezer. there is a good breakfast in the morning and a small buffet dinner between 5pm and 7 mon to thurs in the lobby. There is an inviting small swimming pool and a decent gym room. You can even leave a shopping list and the hotel will get your groceries for you. The location is very convenient, minutes form everything in Cedar Rapids. I was delighted with my stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This was my first time staying at a Homewood Suites. The location is convenient to restaurants, grocery stores, and is directly next door to a movie theatre, which is nice. It is not located in downtown Cedar Rapids, but is convenient to the north side, where I needed to be for business.

I was pleasantly surprised at how large and clean the suites were. I especially enjoyed returning to my room to find that the dishes I had placed in the dishwasher had been cleaned while I was gone! The gym was large and well-equipped. I was also quite surprised to find out they serve complimentary dinner, beer and wine in the evenings...a nice way to end a long day of work! I would definitely stay at this property and other Homewood Suites again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

It was our first stay at a Homewood Suites. We were pleased on how the suite was set up. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We arrived for a long weekend on the day of this hotel's official grand opening! Despite the party, we were quickly and warmly greeted and checked in.

The hotel was full because of a U of Iowa home football game, but our room was very quiet--good soundproofing between the rooms. We had a King 1 room suite where the bed wasn't in a separate room but we did have a sofa bed to relax on, a table and chairs, desk, and a small kitchen with a real refrigerator/freezer. The tv was LG flat screen high definition set that swiveled--a very nice addition. The bathroom was roomy with a separate room with toilet and large shower. Fluffy towels, nice linens, good room lighting added up to a very comfortable room. Breakfast is included and it had several hot items as well as the standard fare. The muffins are the best I've had at a hotel/motel. Staff is exceptionally helpful and cordial.

This new addition to Cedar Rapids is off to a grand beginning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Hotel is brand new and immaculate, opened in August 2010. Rooms are great with comfortable beds and kitchenette with everything you could possibly need for short or extended stay. Breakfast was delicious with great selections including sausage and eggs. Staff friendly, courteous, and helpful...pool/fitness room were great. Only 30 minutes from Kinnick Stadium with easy access from I-380, and near many fine restaurants/stores. We have already booked rooms for football season 2011 and look forward to returning to this fine Hilton property.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North

Address: 1140 Park Place NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Hot "Suite Start" Breakfast every day, and evening meal with alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages Mon.-Thur. 24 hr. fitness center, business center, suite shop and laundry facilities. Complimentary wired and wireless internet, meeting room that accommodates up to 50, Sports Court, Patio, Indoor Pool & Spa. Hilton HHonors. USA Today Mon.-Fri. Each suite offers full fridge, 2 burner stove, dishwasher, DVD player and sofa bed + much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Cedar Rapids North Hotel Cedar Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.