We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn University Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn University Plaza to your Saves list
Clarion Inn University Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5826 University Ave, Building #1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I went to the the Clarion to have Mother's Day buffet at The Against the Grain Restaurant in the hotel. The food was excellent. This was undoubtedly one of the best buffet meals we have ever had. They had a wide range of breakfast, lunch, and dinner choices along with two large tables packed with desserts.
I would have given an outstanding rating except for the fact that we had to wait almost an hour after our reservation to be seated and eat. Time management on such a busy day was not working.
But it was worth it, we had a great time and a great meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your perception will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tony Cruz
Regional Director of Operations
Clarion University Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
17
11
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The folks that run the establishment on the day to day are wonderful. We never had a need that was not met and felt like family while there. The catering and business reservations staff- Sue O'Leary & Maria Murphy are WONDERFUL. The front desk crew like Tom & Austin are friendly and accommodating, the restaurant staff, Lynda & Mary, are sweet, efficient and problem-solvers and the Chef was outstanding in creating a wonderful business meeting service of lovely food.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a lot of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Kelli H,

It was a pleasure having you stay at our hotel the last few weeks! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Tony Cruz
Regional Director of Operations
Clarion University Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The front desk clerk was very pleasant at check in, however, when we got to our room it hadn't been cleaned and the bed was not made. I returned to the front desk and the clerk apologized and promptly gave us another-bigger-room! The room was a little worn around the edges but it was super clean. Nice big screen tv and the bed was very comfortable! The lobby area was pleasant with a neat little fish pond. There is a descent sized indoor pool. The hotel is close to Northern Iowa University many restaurants and stores. The hotel does not offer a free continental breakfast which was disappointing. Our kids were not with us on this trip so it wasn't a huge deal but probably wouldn't have stayed here because of this fact if they would have been along. Overall I was satisfied with my stay and would stay again if the kids were not along.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our guest service staff and would return in the future. I do apologize for not meeting your expectations on the room decor, we are planing a renovation in the near future. Thank you again for your feedback and your business! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Faith checked me in was very polite and answered my questions. My dinner prepared by Chris the chef, and was very well cooked. As well as Lynda who served me with very nice service. Overall, a nice hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Regional Director of Operations at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Tony Cruz
Regional Director of Operations
Clarion University Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed for one night. It was an ok visit at best. The room and hotel needs a renovation. The need was comfortable but the air system is outdated and there was no option to keep the fan on, only heat or cool. The fitness center needs new equipment, the eliptical machine felt like it was from the 90's so I opted for the treadmill. Unfortunate due to the harsh impact the treadmill has on the knees. I did like that there was a fridge and microwave, road travelers like me always appreciates it. The remote had duct tape on the back to hold the cover on, aren't those like $5? Replace it. Also, the shower head spray would reach the back of the tub all the way lowered down which wasn't convenient when trying to apply body wash. It's the little things that matter. Overall it was an ok visit but I would stay somewhere else if I had the option.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Regional Director at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Inn University Plaza.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your room condition on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with staff and owners to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Cedar Falls.

Kind Regards,

Tony Cruz
Regional Director
Clarion University Plaza
319-277-2230
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for the Easter weekend and while it is in a great location, the Hotel needs some updating.

The entrance into the hotel is nice and very welcoming. The lobby, restaurant, and their conference rooms were very nice. The pool area is also very well maintained.

The rooms/hallways on the other hand need a lot of work. Its minor things like new paint, carpet, window coverings. The popcorn ceilings were falling off and we had a leaky shower handle, that didn't stop running the entire time we were there. The wall paper is starting to fall off the walls and show its age.

The location and staff are alone worth a perfect rating, but I can't over look the need for updating. If they can update their rooms and get new carpet, drapes, wall coverings, bathrooms/sinks, and clean the hallways. I will stay here every time I visit. It is a great location and the staff is very friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Regional Director at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found the location and Staff helpful, and apologize for the overall hotel decor. We hope you give us the opportunity in the near future to regain your confidence in our hotels services. Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tn.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

To be a flagship for Choice Hotels - this motel leaves a lot to be desired. It is an old Holiday Inn built in 1962 and shows it. I must say the staff was very friendly and helpful. The up stair rooms and my down stair room had to be entered outside and then go into a hall way. One thing in it"s favor the bed were comfortable - nice TV - in my room there wasn't a ref. or micro. No continental breakfast like most Choice motels have. Breakfast - lunch - dinner is serve in the bar area with a very limited menu. Limited on variety of beers and wine. There is a nice in-door swimming pool and exercise room is limited.

Room Tip: Asked for inside rooms if not stay away from the entrance doors to hall ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Regional Director at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and apologize for the overall hotel decor. We hope you give us the opportunity in the near future to regain your confidence in our hotels services. Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Falls
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#5 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#6 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls-University Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn University Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Address: 5826 University Ave, Building #1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn® hotel offers an ideal location during your next trip to Cedar Falls. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Iowa hotel's central location and affordable accommodations is sure to make your stay convenient and memorable.The Clarion Inn hotel is a great place to call home during your next trip to the Cedar Falls area. With countless features and outstanding service, your stay with us is sure to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn University Plaza Cedar Falls, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn University Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.