We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls to your Saves list
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Viking Road, Cedar Falls, IA 50613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Hastings, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed here for three days while we were in town for a swim meet. Very convenient location. Great price. Loved having the full fridge for lot's of snacks and drinks for our swim meet. Just know if you plan on staying they only do housekeeping once a week. Not sure if that means once in the week when you check in or once a week in general. We noticed some crushed crackers in the hallway on Friday and on Sunday they were still there. Also keep in mind because of the cleaning schedule towels are not refreshed and the garbage isn't taken out daily. No big deal, unless you have a bunch of swimmers who use a ton of towels and eat like they are starving all the time. This wouldn't prevent me from staying there again, just a heads up for future travelers bring towels and expect to take your own garbage out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We hope that you will stay with us again for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
2
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Can be seen from the road, easy to get to. Clean and quiet, looks good, smells good. Road noise was quiet when we checked in around 9 p.m., but was picking up by 8:30 a.m. Our special request was not noticed until we checked in, but the lady checking us in promptly switched our rooms to accommodate our request. Only downside is the lack of restaurants in the area. Have to go to University Avenue to find someplace to eat, about a mile or so to the north.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have never EVER had a problem with this hotel! We are staying here twice this year instead of our once every year and I am always very pleased with the experience! Honestly, it is one of the only hotels that my inner "clean freak" comes out in! The entire room was absolutely great! The staff is excellent! I don't think you could find a more polite and caring staff at any other hotel! If you are looking for a hotel in this area THIS IS YOUR HOTEL! Not once have I had a bad experience here, and I have stayed here 3-4 times over the course of a couple years! Great great great!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 weeks in the course of a move. We stayed in a 2-queen suite. The room was clean, and the hotel was quiet the entire time we were there. We used the pool, the fitness center, and the free laundry, all of which were very nice to have during our stay. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The only suggestion for management I would have, would be to include a few more items in the kitchenette: there were 3 of us in the room, but only silverware, bowls, etc., for 2 people. There was no toaster or strainer, but we brought our own and made it work. After we checked out, we received a call that we'd left one of our laptop computers there! We were already a ways away, and the staff kindly offered to ship it to us. We are so thankful for the honesty of the cleaning staff (in reporting that we'd left it), and the helpfulness of the desk staff in offering to send it to us. Overall, our experience here was very positive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie P, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your response to our survey and your suggestion. Your kinds words will encourage us to provide even better service to our guests.
Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Suburban December of 2013 for 2 weeks. The rooms are great, very clean upon arrival, only the housekeeping services are limited, once a week. The front desk staff will bring you fresh towels & are very good at meeting any request. This makes up for once a week housekeeping. Great location, good thing because this Choice hotel offers no breakfast. The Hotel manager & staff do offer a dinner on some Wednesdays nights. Guest laundry is free & the pool, fitness center & common areas are always very clean. Could use a larger lobby.

Our stay for the most part was quiet. Towards the end of our stay the hotel must of have sold out. Many different type of sports events in town. Late in the evening we began to receive prank calls, heard children running in the halls & banging on our door. We called & complained to the front desk. Later went down to complain in person & the all areas of the hotel there were children ranging in ages with out an adult. Staff seemed experienced on how to handle so much chaos. With in the hour the front desk staff personally assured us the matter was taken care of. The next morning the fire alarm went off.We were impressed with the front desk staff & how well they handled situations caused by unsupervised kids, unruly adults & unexpected alarms. When in Cedar Falls, we will stay here every time. Staff Ross & Sofie.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie P, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback.
I have posted your kind words as encouragement for my entire staff. We take pride in our hotel and the service we provide and are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the Suburban with a basketball team of 13-year-olds in December 2013 while at a tournament in Cedar Falls. After a long day in the gym, the parents all gathered for snacks and drinks in one of the rooms... About 6 of us... And the boys were in one of the other rooms down the hall. We were quiet... No one complained about that... But we got a knock on the door from Efilia from the front desk around 11:15, threatening to "call the DHS if we weren't in the room supervising our kids". She was rude, crabby, and whining that she was the only staff member there and she didn't want to deal with us. We travel 2-3 weekends a month with this basketball group, so I've seen my share of hotels... I guess I'm spoiled by Marriott customer service, because this was new to me.

There are no Marriotts in the Waterloo/Cedar Falls area, so we gave this a shot. The Suburban is in a nice location, and was clean. Each room has a refrigerator and freezer, and a stove top. The fire alarm went off at 7:30AM on Sunday morning... Someone must have been cooking. The beds were ok. It is advertised as an extended stay suite... But rooms are no bigger than a standard hotel room, they just squeezed a kitchen area in and removed a dresser to make room. I guess I expected more of a Residence Inn or Homewood Suites feel... There are no kitchen tables, no closets, no dressers, and not as much room as I anticipated. They had coffee out in the morning but no breakfast... The pool area is big and nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie P, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations as an Extended Stay Hotel.
Due to safety concerns we do ask that children not be left unattended in rooms.
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Staff was great at check in and helpful getting the room I wanted. No towels in the workout room the two days we used it - but equipment and tv ok.

No bfast option at hotel but plenty of retail in the area - convenient to everything on Viking Road in south Cedar Falls including the trails.

Room Tip: upstairs an on one of the wings away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie P, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey. We value our guest feedback and use it to encourage our team and improve our guest service.

We are looking forward to you visiting us again and will make sure towels are in the work out room.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls

Address: 300 Viking Road, Cedar Falls, IA 50613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.