We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Carroll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Carroll to your Saves list
Days Inn Carroll
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Highway 30, Carroll, IA 51401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carroll
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This new hotel is the best in the area by a mile. You can't beat the facilities, price and amenities. The only down side is the train that runs down the street. It is loud in the distance, but any place you stay will have that. Great little place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
9
5
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed there 8/27 with my daughter and grandchildren. Very nice hotel, very clean and the most comfortable beds and "PILLOWS" I have ever slept on in a hotel. Great pool. Over all a veryenjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

we Were on a trip to Carroll, we booked the room in advance, when we got into the room, we saw just how beautiful it was, the rate was fantastic for the room quality. the decor was very pretty and fit it very well. the room was very spacious. the bed was very soft and comfortable, it was immaculately cleaned and the whirlpool was very nice. the shower was very strong and the room had a microwave as well as a refrigerator which was a very nice surprise, although we did not eat the breakfast, it had a nice spread. the hotel staff was very polite and friendly. we will definitely stay here again if we go to Carroll

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Worst hotel experience I have EVER had. Rooms are well below average and service is even worse.

On my second occasion staying here, they charged my account what I had been told would not be charged and their only response was "there is nothing we can do". Well, days later I still have to deal with them. The staff is rude, hostile and their customer service is non-existent.

Save yourself some time and go somewhere else,

Room Tip: Don't stay here... the Carrollton, Super 8 or Bed & Breakfast are worth it to not have to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody G, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carroll, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our review. Our new policy is to review the rate and taxes associated with each stay at the time of check in with our guests. This information is readily available on the registration sheet that is signed upon check in. We are always able to accomodate guests should they choose a different option of payment upon check out. There are times when a guest may use a debit card and those funds may be held longer by an individual's bank even after the hotel has cancelled this. Our policy now is to ask the guest to inquire first about their personal bank's policy on this hold. If their individual bank is unable to assist our guests, we are now set up with a support number for our credit card users to ensure that this situation will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

#1 - The Days Inn @ Carrol, Iowa does NOT honor the room rates that are shown on the Days Inn website so be prepared to pay way more than the website says it will cost you.
#2 - Staff is unwilling to make unruly & out of control guests quite down the noise so you can get some sleep. I was told after all the rowdy ones were paying customers and they could not offend them. Gee, I was paying over $100.00 a night but that did not matter to staff.
#3 - There is a card on the nighstand that claims to save water they will remake your bed using the same bedding. It does NOT happen as we had to make our own beds as no one showed up to do it. Saving water is just a bunny hugger go green sales pitch that in reality is to improve their profit margin as they do not have to pay employees to do it. Wouldn't you think at $100.00 (+) per night they could at least stop by and make your bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody G, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carroll, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your response to our review. The Days Inn here in Carroll encourages their guests to use the Days Inn website to book their rooms. The discounts offered on line vary with the different promotions that are offered, the availablity of the rooms, and the amount of time in advance the reservation is made. Our hotel offers a 10% discount to qualifing guests including AARP and AAA. These discounts are easily obtained by mearly asking the staff either upon check in or at the time of the reservation.

Quiet time in the hotel is at 11pm. There are times when staff will need to ask other guests in the hotel to please be more quiet and courteous to our other guests. After two warnings from the front desk host, the noisy guests are asked to leave our hotel to find an appropriate place to continue with their activities. A 24 hour cab is available in town to accomodate this.

Our policy is to change the bed sheets of a guest who is staying over on the third day of their stay no matter if they have placed the card on their pillow to designate this. At any time upon a guests' request, the bed linens will be changed. We are aware of the impact that we can have on our environment and do try to do our part to conserve whenever we can. Our housekeepers are required now to keep written log of their daily duties and interactions with the hotel guests. We do hope that you will try to stay at our hotel again and that the improvements we have made will be up to your standards.
Thank you again,
Jody, front desk host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The only problem with this motel that I could find would be it's breakfast. They had waffles and that was about it. Some fruit - no bananas. No donuts - they had mini blueberry muffins that were very dry - but that was about it. Selections could have been better.

On the flip side - check in was easy - we didn't have reservations. All that was available was a couple of queen suites which were OK with us. Price was reasonable. Rooms were very large and the beds were so COMFY. I don't think we ever have stayed at a hotel with as nice of beds as these were.

Pool was a little on the small side - but it was never crowded.

Would I stay here again when visiting Carroll, Iowa - you bet I would.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody G, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carroll, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to respond to our review. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know about some of the improvements to our breakfast. We have added cream cheese danishes, another sweet item, to the menu besides the blueberry muffins. We regularly check the quality of the muffins to ensure freshness. We also offer oatmeal, cold cereals, yogurt, wheat and white toast with peanut butter or jelly, bagels with cream cheese, and a choice of two juices along with the fresh made waffles and fruit. We are looking for other ways to impove our breakfast and will hopefully implement these changes soon.

We have also added lounge chairs to our pool room for additional seating.

Jody,
front desk host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have been dealing with really bad hotels in this area for a while now and this hotel has changed this and I so happy! The beds are great and the rooms a roomy. Carroll also is a pretty safe town I've never had any problems in their parking lot. The breakfast is standard and not that great and sometimes the staff can be a little icy but the comfort of the hotel by far makes up for any minor negative. This is much nicer than your average Days Inn!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Carroll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carroll

Address: 1127 Highway 30, Carroll, IA 51401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Carroll
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carroll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Carroll 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Carroll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Carroll Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Carroll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.