We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar and Grill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zyka

Zyka
12 greenlaw place | Newton Mearns, Newton Mearns G77 6NP, Scotland
01416396429/6393279
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bar and Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time and not the last!

Prompt service, very good food and a lively atmosphere.

I had a tempura prawns and a fillet steak, both were excellent.

I would recommend Zyka to anyone.


    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    42
    10
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“GlasgowCurryClub - Official Review.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ok so we haven't been to Zyka for some time and decided to try it again...sometimes a restaurant will impress first time round and subsequent visits reveal a drop in quality - BUT NOT THIS ONE!
Reception - warm, friendly and casual. Decor - stunning. Drinks; plenty of choice, served punctually, and in the proper glasses for the brand. Poppadoms and spiced onions were offered, accepted and duly devoured. Fresh and spicy; not old and tired.
Starters; again plenty of choice from all the usual suspects, but we chose chicken tikka pieces. Excellent with a small side salad and lemon.
Mains; we both opted for chicken tawa; a bhoona-style tomato sauce base with onions and a hint of garlic. Fantastic with boiled rice and peshwari naan.
Puddings; ice cream (3 flavours) and a strawberry cheesecake.
Criticisms: this place should be within walking distance of my house!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We live right beside it, and did contest the planning permission! Well as with all Council's it goes ahead anyway! So glad it did. Service, food, ambience and just everything is lovely! The carry out food is good and value for money!. One down side perhaps - a wee bit dark in the Indian restaurant side, to read the menu and also = the 2 tables near the kitchen door. But hey..... sometimes if you want the grub - then you have to put up with those 2 tables if there are not any other ones. That's not a complaint - just a personal 'don't really like.' 10 out of 10.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited on Saturday 730pm. Received starters quite quickly. Then waited over 1 hour for main course. Waiter did come over and give apology for delay but bit faint hearted ! No one seemed to be in control of waiting staff or restaurant diners. Once food arrived (only warm not piping hot) my lamb shank had changed into cut up rolled roast lamb in middle of plate. Just ate it as too hungry ! Had to ask for dessert menu . Coffees returned as lukewarm. Really not a good night for food. A barman came over to ask if we enjoyed our meal, our reply was "not really". Astonishingly his reply was "were your drinks ok, I work in the bar so as long as your drinks were ok that's good" !!!!!! We thought he might have acknowledged our comment and sent a manager over. Might be good idea for management and staff to take a trip to Ayrshire to sample some of the many restaurants there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a take-away from Zyka on Friday night after finding out this was in fact and Indian restaurant. Since its been there I have always thot it was Greek!

Anyway, ordered chicken tikka, and lamb bhunna, couple of nan breads and a large veg pakora. We had absolutely loads of food and far too much for two. It was really delish - the chicken tikka was cooked perfectly and so tender and juicy, really was the nicest moistest chicken tikka i've even had. Nan was good, not too thick but not crispy and the pakora was lovely good size pieces. The curry sauces were tasty, not spicy so if u like a bit of spice I think you would need to ask.

I can honestly say this will be my new take away joint. Its not cheap but worth spending a bit extra in my opinion. Highly recommended.

Going for a sit down meal soon to try the grill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zyka also viewed

Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire
Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire
 
East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Zyka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zyka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.