We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good, Much Bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Burlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Burlington to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Burlington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1213 N Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Some Good, Much Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would like to start by saying that the Marriott brand is my favorite chain of hotels. We stay in hotels approximately 30 nights a year, so I have definite favorites. This hotel in particular does not live up to the Marriott standards.

First, the good. Really nice front desk woman at check in, nice lobby, decent breakfast, surprisingly good coffee, and they have comfortable beds, even though the sheets pop off.(I hate that)

Now, some of the bad. Our first room was on the first floor, after requesting 6 months in advance for a high floor (there are only 3 floors) away from the elevator. It was 9:00 and I was told they were full and that this room was the last one. I accepted it and moved on.

We unpacked and got ready for bed, when at 10:30 I went into the bathroom and almost wiped out on the large puddle of water that had appeared. I couldn't understand where it came from until I saw water running down from a hole in the ceiling which had mold all around it. We were later told that the drain line in the room above us was leaking and that the occupant upstairs had just taken a shower. Someone at the hotel had to know about this, since it was apparent by the damage to the ceiling that it had been going on for a while. And I thought the peeling wallpaper was bad.

We were moved to a high floor away from the elevator. Huh?

This room also had peeling wallpaper, and had an absolutely gross, dirty, stained tub, with a dirty shower liner that was so long we had no choice but to stand on it while taking a shower. We would have moved, but after a look online, saw that every other acceptable hotel in town was full.

Also, our keys seemed to be good for one use, and then had to be reactivated. We took a number of trips to the lobby, but the one time the general manager was working the desk. We had to wait 5 minutes, listening to his private phone call before he helped us. He did apologize. Who do you complain to when it's the manager doing this?

We stayed in this hotel last year, and didn't like it then, but I kept reading on here about the renovations. Don't believe it. The elevator is still gross, the bathrooms are still gross, the carpet in the halls is still terrible, and the tile going into the pool area is still filthy. The only thing we did notice was that the stairwells seemed to have new paint, which the dripped paint all over the carpeting proved.

The general manager should take a tour through each and every room in this hotel and ask himself if he would rent these rooms for him and his family. I don't think so.

My review ratings are averaged to take into account the good along with the bad.

Needless to say, I should have remembered my vow to not stay here again after last year. We will for sure not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIBRLFIGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I also want to thank you for calling me out on a mistake made. I should always remember our guest first, there surly is no excuse for bad judgment when it comes to guest service. I actually do go through our rooms every day before they are rented. We are almost done replacing the entire bathroom in all guest rooms, this part of the renovation will be done by 06-11-13. The full room renovation will be done shortly after. I am deeply troubled that you will not return, please feel free to call me and let us see if we can make this right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
13
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is being rejuvenated, paint ,carpet, tile, pool has been completely remodeled, will be very nice the the work is done. Friendly staff, great place for a quiet nights sleep. Would give this place a 5 when all the work is done

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIBRLFIGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Burlington, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. We are working our way through this rejuvenation; the finished product is going to be amazing. Fortunately we have stopped all of the construction till October so we do not disappoint the leisure traveler over the summer. My team and I look forward to serving you the next time you come to Burlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here as a stop on our trip to Iowa. Would give it an average rating. They were in the process of refurbishing which made for dusty halls and more foot traffic than normal. room was clean, staff was attentive. Breakfast nothing special, but more than just the typical Continental breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIBRLFIGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Burlington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. No matter what is happening with the hotel the staffs main goal is to always give you a room that is clean and fresh and reflects the highest quality standards. Because of this promise it does force use to update the hotel every so often. I do hope you will come back and see the end results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is our second visit, of multiply days each stay as a family, along with individual stays for business and we'll definitely be back! When traveling we always look for hotels that pride themselves on providing clean rooms ie no dust or sticky ?, nothing left behind on carpet or flooring, mirrors you can actually see yourself, clean bathroom, supplies readily available and replenished, you will find all this at Fairfield Inn Burlington. We have repeatedly experienced friendly willing helpful staff both on the phone and in person! Add a cozy couch lobby and large well stocked breakfast area with plenty of fresh breakfast choices and beverages throughout the day, what more does a traveler need? Well, a large heated indoor pool, exercise room, plenty of parking with many different restaurants nearby and entertainment across the street makes this hotel convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIBRLFIGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Burlington, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind words the team we have here at the Fairfield Inn and Suites just thrives on hearing from our guest. This team is hospitality driven and takes everyone’s stay to heart. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here during Christmas vacation and we were plesantly surprised that the hotel was so clean and well taken care of. The room had two double beds and you can request to have the sheets changes during your multi-day stay. The bathroom was clean and the shower water pressure was great. The water was powerful and got hot really quick. There is a coffee maker in the room and extra blankets. There is free breakfast too..fruit, cold cereal, oatmeal, hot chocolate, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, waffles made to order, bagels, muffins....... All good and fresh. Because this is. Marriott property, we found that this is the best hotel in Burlington. There is an indoor swimming pool and exercise room with a couple of treadmills and a eliptical machine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIBRLFIGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn Burlington, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. The staff and I were so excited to read your feedback about your recent stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to having you come see us again! I always enjoy reading guest comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend while my husband was on military orders. The night front desk guy was very rude and wanted to know what my husbands official orders were for. That is and was NONE of his business! My hubby had proper military id and paperwork so the third degree from the front night desk guy was not needed or appreciated, we had already driven 7 hours to get there that night. Anyway, getting to our room now, we were horrified to walk into a very smelly musty room. We have stayed at over 12 different Marriott's over the last 1 1/2 years and this was the dirtiest and smelliest by far. We also had a problem with the sink in the bathroom not draining properly. We called the front desk about this problem but apparently they could not find anyone to fix this problem as no one ever showed up to fix it. On the plus side the beds were very comfy. This hotel could use some serious updating and some customer service help.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIBRLFIGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience during your stay with us. I can assure you rudeness is not tolerated on my property. As for the smell in the hotel we sure have had some opportunities this past year with the nonstop running of the air-conditioning. I believe we have fixed the problem over the past few weeks. I am sure happy that you found the beds nice and comfortable. Thank you for your candid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very nice place and they are renovating soon. Seeing they are renovating this hotel is currently the worse it has ever been, the new one is going to be really awsome! Great friendly people and very clean rooms and they really want to work with you to give you what ever you need. Asked at the desk about pizza places they were very helpful and gave us suggestions and a coupon for 10% off! I am staying here a week and this is the next best place to home! Right across the street from Fun City & a Casino, if you are into that, I am not. Lots of eating places in walking distance. Unlike most of the Marriott chain of hotels this one has at least one room with a whirlpool tub because I stayed in it. And not one of the bathtub conversions, but this one is in the main room next to the king size bed and the tub is big enough for two! Even the high end Marriott hotels do not have room hot tubs. What a surprise for a Fairfield in the small city of Burlington.

Room Tip: Ask what discounts are available. They will help you out. Very good people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIBRLFIGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you Richard W. for your kind words, we are very excited about the renovations. We have just completed the parking lot, along with painting the exterior of the building.
We work very hard at making each person that visits, feel like they are part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Burlington

Address: 1213 N Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our hotel near Burlington, IA. Our hotel includes complimentary breakfast daily, free wi-fi, and 32" HDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Burlington
Burlington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Burlington Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.