We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catfish was Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ross' Restaurant

Ross' Restaurant
430 14th Street, Bettendorf, IA 52722-4820
(563) 355-7573
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 72 Restaurants in Bettendorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
North Park Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Catfish was Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Was in Davenport for my grandma's funeral. Had family members that have eaten there before. We went when they had all you can eat catfish. I had the coleslaw, hush puppies, and the catfish. They were all so good! Then for dessert we had the bread pudding, and it was delicious! If we ever get back to the area again, we would for sure make this one of our stops.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Opting for a meal on the cheap, hubby and tried an early dinner here Friday night. The place is somewhat in a time warp, but in a good way. Slightly rundown, it was clean and pleasant and everyone there, especially the servers, we're super nice. Hubby got all you could eat fish fry... Delicate catfish hunks, fried nicely, with a slight Mexican seasoning in the batter, fries (fresh, but nothing special) and homemade coleslaw (very good). I ordered loosemeat sandwich with cheese and bacon (also with fries and slaw). The service was quick, but the sandwich wasn't very hot and nothing special, except the bacon was very good. I was disappointed in the homemade bun on the sammy... It was kind of blah. But, the service was so good, we decided to give it a go for breakfast Saturday morn. His omelet was hot, but my eggs just warm. The OJ was yummy, but sausage gravy institutional and blah. Liked everyone here but wished the food was a bit warmer. Also cinnamon roll is big, but it should be for $3.99. We didn't think it was all that. To be fair, we ate that the next day, reheated in the microwave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It's worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

They have good food here. It would be difficult to not get a good item from the menu and the prices are decent. They have huge homemade cinnamon rolls you can take home. They are fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW ! LOVED THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Organic eggs, local sausage & bacon, nitrate free! You couldnt ask for any better food & quality. Love to see the farm to table menu......wish there was a Ross' near me! This will be our next regular stop when we return next year for Bix Fest.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greasy, not worth the stop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Apparently this is a favorite for the locals, especially after the bars close. And snockered is the only way you would be able to handle the food. We stopped there for dinner with our kids. The entire place was covered in a layer of grease, and the seating layout was outdated and awkward. I am 6mo pregnant with a pretty small belly and couldn't fit in certain seats. Service was average (we had to continually ask for refills), food took a LONG time to arrive. The adults were served way before the kids, which is a HUGE issue for us, especially considering their food was clearly microwaved (overcooked fish sticks, spaghetti in a bowl that was overcooked around the edges). Maybe the long wait was due to only one highschool kid cooking in the back... My egg salad sandwich was very average, the plain chips that came with had picked up other weird flavors of the food from the fridge they had been sitting in. I had the raspberry pie at the server's suggestion, which I couldnt even finish, the filling was so thick. It was between jello and overcooked pudding and seemed to be made from jam. The crust was homemade but didnt make it worth it. The cinnamon rolls they advertise were very good, but nothing setting them apart from cinnebon or even making them yourself. Skip the hometown greasy feel and eat somewhere else!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ross' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ross' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross' Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.