We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winona Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Chestnut House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
806 Chestnut Street, Winona Lake, IN 46590   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Winona Lake B&B and Inns
Clinton, Indiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wanted a place to take my wife for a suprise get away. A place to get away from the world for awhile and man did I find it. The Chestnut House and its Hosts Machelle and Fred are the greatest thing since sliced bread. Machelle cooks the most amazing breakfasts. We met some amazing people around the breakfast table and had great conversations. I walked away with new friends. My wife and I have never had a place that felt more like home to us. This has become our spot and we are going to take time to come here atleast twice a year. The Village is close with its unique shopping experience. I cant say enough about this place. If you do not go, you have definately missed the boat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maple Room. Love the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indaina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Chestnut House is a beautifully restored old house with wood floors and attention to detail throughout. We stayed in the White Oak room, which features an enclosed sleeping porch that adds a reading nook to the suite. We had excellent wifi on the second floor. Innkeepers Fred and Machelle are super friendly. They provide excellent service and scrumptious breakfasts. The B&B is walking distance from the village shops and the lake. One caveat - house rules request that you remove your shoes everywhere inside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorewood illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at Chestnut House 3 times this Summer and each time has been outstanding. Machelle and Fred are wonderful hosts and have become friends to us. The food,rooms and house are so much nicer than a hotel and in most cases cheaper, you are missing out on a wonderful experience by not staying there. Winona Lake with the shops and restaurants within walking distance make this a can't miss for traveling to the area.

Doug and Donna H.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both the Cherry and Maple rooms both are very nice with each having it's own char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beautiful inside and out. A wonderful neighborhood and excellent service. Thank you Machelle!
We only stayed one night but will definitely return when visiting our daughter at Grace College. Quiet and relaxing, just what we needed after a long drive. Within walking distance of quaint restaurants, shops and the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently attended my 50th class reunion. While I explored the changes in my home town, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this perfectly restored B&B. Machelle and her husband were charming, the other guests interesting and breakfast amazing and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well to start with Machelle is the GREATEST!!! Our travel plans had changed due to the birth of our 7th grandchild, we we're running very late and she was so great about everything and told us not to worry about contacting her. The house is beautiful inside and out, a very inviting front porch, the inside is truly a labor love to restore the home. The bedrooms were great. Breakfast was fantastic, loved the baked oatmeal, I've got to get your recipe. My husand doesn't even like oatmeal but after your's he has hanged his mind. See you next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I are from Berlin, Germany. We stayed in Chestnut Bed & Breakfast for one week after one week in Chicago. This is a perfect combination of visiting a fantastic city and the relaxing country side living. Winona Lake is 2 minutes away.
Lovely and detailed interior in the house. Very warm atmosphere, you feel home immediately – perfect.
Nice wood swinger on the veranda with candlelight on the table at the evening.
Breakfast at one big table in a dining room which helps to communicate with other guests (but you may have breakfast in your room, too, if you want – no pressure, just relax!).
Pull off your shoes when entering the house but don´t be afraid –single use house shoes offered for free.
We booked the Chestnut apartment. Huge room with big space for your stuff (not usual in the States). Kitchen with microwave, refridgerator, dishwasher. Ironing device and adjustable air conditioning (of course). Big bathroom with jacuzzi and shower.
But the most important is Machelle and her husband. She is so friendly and offers so much hospitality that we decided to come back. There is no doubt about it.
She makes everything possible. Her cooking has been great (I loved her French toasts). But you may get fresh fruits the same way as omelette. Not comparable to the junk food offered in many hotels for breakfast.
The room has been cleaned every day and the house is perfectly cleaned, too.
We have to recommend the “Chestnut” from the deep of our heart and we would like to say thank you to Machelle and her family to make our trip to the USA unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnut House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 806 Chestnut Street, Winona Lake, IN 46590
Location: United States > Indiana > Winona Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winona Lake
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive Princess Anne-style home was built in 1906 and meticulously renovated to create four elegant guest suites. Appointed with early 20th century style furnishings, the Chestnut House remains true to its historic appearance and beauty. Our guests enjoy luxury accommodations that include inviting sitting areas, delicious breakfasts, and off-street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnut House Hotel Winona Lake
Chestnut House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.