We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Find Totally Off the Beat & Path!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerulean

Cerulean
Park Ave, Winona Lake, IN 46580
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cerulean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park Ave
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Charming Find Totally Off the Beat & Path!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

On the road to a fencing tournament in Culver, IN last year, thoughts turned to dinner a few miles before the Winona Lake exit. I stumbled upon the out of the way find which already had a 4.5 star rating on one if the other restaurant sites. Curious, we took a chance & to our surprise, our dinner @ Cerulean was wonderful. Again just last week, we tried it again. The place was booked with reservations until well past 9:00. We waited for about 20 mins & were seated just outside of the bar area. Our server ironically remembered us from last year. I take it that not too many fencers on their way to a competition have stopped there before. Everything we ordered was prepared well...from the scrumptious sweet potato soup to the inventive sushi rolls to the luscious rocks & pebbles dessert. The service is friendly & attentive, the plating is very artistic using local farm fresh foods from around IN.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Indiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a neat place to eat. The food is very unique and very tasteful. My wife and I are definately coming back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected FIne Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In a small Indiana town like Winona Lake, you might expect Applebees to be the high end. So finding the fine-dining experience of Cerulean was a surprise. Their menu is based on courses: first course - appetizers, soups, salads; second course - tapas; third course - entres. My entre was lobster over alfredo with pastas made fresh in the restaurant. It was excellent. This restaurant is by itself worth a trip to Winona Lake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food in appropriate portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The menu is well laid out with choices based on the size of the portion rather than the traditional courses. This lets you choose the amount of food you order. Your appetite is not over whelmed by massive portions. The food is well cooked and presented and the wait staff knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona Lake, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what you would expect to find in Winona Lake,IN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

World class dining, locally owned and managed. One look at the menu and you know you are in a special place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerulean also viewed

 

Been to Cerulean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerulean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.