We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Columbus, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Run down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my family during a trip to Purdue. The room was extremely run down with worn out and dirty carpet. Right in front of the front door the carpet had slipped off and nails were protruding from the floor which made it very unsafe for my Children. When I mentioned this to the staff at reception, they wrote it down, but did not have a single word of apology. Hopefully they will fix it soon before someone really gets hurt.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi NMan2013,

Thank you for your helpful feedback regarding your recent stay. I will be sure to share and reinforce your comments to our management staff so that they can address this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    29
    13
    3
See reviews for
45
2
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I found this hotel by looking on Trip Advisor. I stayed here for Family Weekend at Purdue. Pretty close to the University and football field. Staff friendly and helpful. The rates for this weekend were a bit over priced but nothing I could really do since this was a special event weekend and rooms were in demand. The rooms were reasonably sized and updated. Rooms clean. Most of the rooms though were lined around the indoor pool area which i guess could get loud at times. Luckily ours was off away from this area. It was nice though that they had a sitting area outside of the pool area with tables and chairs so we were able to sit there with are group and hang out after we got back from the football game. One disappointment was that their internal restaurant which is a sports bar has very strange hours. It is open for lunch 10-2 then closes to 4pm. So when we returned from the game and wanted food we had to leave the hotel. NIce thing is that is does offer pizza to go so we ended up eating pizza late nite by the pool. Breakfast buffet is also offered in the morning for a minimal charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the indoor pool. Could get loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi emmaretto,

Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the hotel overall. I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the restaurant. We will share your feedback with our hotel management teams.
We hope you stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I and some friends of ours recently stayed at this hotel for a Purdue football game. Upon arrival, the lobby and indoor pool area looked average. Our rooms on the other hand needed some TLC. Although there was a flat screen TV and the beds were somewhat comfortable, the positives ended there. All 3 rooms we occupied had filthy bathrooms. The tiles were cracked and stained, the bottom of the white bathtubs were grey and in need of some serious bleach, and the toilets had rings inside as if they hadn't been cleaned properly in weeks. We actually asked to move rooms the first night as there were hairs all over the bathtub and bathroom floor when we first arrived. On top of that, the AC wall units were very loud. The location is decent and close to a Walmart, making it easy to get tailgating necessities, but they could definitely use a new maid staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Kelilyn,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay. We apologize that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. I will share your feedback to our housekeeping team so that they can address these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at this hotel while attending training. The rooms are pleasant and clean. The bed was better than average, with 4 pillows of different densitie, so; it was easy to find one that worked for me. The rooms all seemed to have large (40") flat-screen televisions with the usual assortment of available channels. The bar in the hotel had a good selection of food and beverages, but be prepared to pay high rates (there is an Applebee's across the parking lot). There is also a Walmart across the street in case you forget to pack anything. The pool area is attractive and includes a hot tub. Others in our group said the workout room was nicely equipped. The hotel staff was a mixed bag; most days they were pleasant and helpful, but a couple were rude and intentionally unhelpful. Overall I rate this hotel as average for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Mike W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and found our hotel amenities and location to be convenient. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed with my son for a Purdue college visit. It has a decent king plus sofabed suite, but nothing else to recommend it. The property is run down to the point of appearing abandoned. Furniture is dinged and dated. Go elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear BennettMinLA,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay. We apologize that your overall stay did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sept. 3rd. Didn't have a reservation, as had different plans. But Lizzie at the front desk was great -- we came in late, maybe 9 pm, checked us in, found us in their system, was able to upgrade us & offer the 4pm checkout, which was very helpful. We were in town helping family move, & would be watching 3 young grandchildren, so she offered to move us to a first floor location, because that would be easier if we had them with us.
Had b-fast next morning. Large glasses of OJ was poured when the menus were delivered. Coffee was good, meal was large -- too much for me, ok for husband.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Membership does have it privileges -- their Starwood program seems pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi J-zue,

We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience at our hotel. It is great to hear that Lizzie was so helpful during your stay – we will be sure to let her know. We are also glad that you liked our breakfast. Hope to see you again next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My daughter just went to Purdue as a freshman. When we were visiting colleges we stayed here because it was close to Purdue. We have stayed here 2 times already and I expect to stay here again.

The rooms are decent and clean. The front desk employees were the only employees I actually interacted with and they were very nice and accommodating.

It is close to Purdue. Rates are fair and its is a pretty decent, clean hotel. I'll definitely be coming back..

Room Tip: Atrium rooms open to the pool area. If you want a more quiet room, ask for a room that isn't aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi cdsimon,

Thank you for your review and both of your stays at Four Points! We’re glad to hear that the front desk employees were friendly, and that you found the hotel clean. Also, we’re happy that you were able to be close to your daughter at Purdue while at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Address: 1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette is just a mile from the Purdue University campus and the Research Park. Onsite we offer over 11,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza West Lafayette
Hotel University Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.