We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a pleasant stay. Rooms were large and the bed was so comfortable that we slept through our alarm twice. Only con was that the breakfast wasn't "free" and when you make a reservation you have to opt for having breakfast or not. It was about $9 for the breakfast add on. Granted it was more than a few stale bagels. It seemed to be a whole buffet line with hot food when we walked by the dining area. But still, I believe it should have been included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Daisy1034,
Thank you for your positive review. We're sorry for the confusion around breakfast. Four Points does not serve free breakfast, however, we do have rate packages where breakfast is included and an offer that you can take advantage of in the future if this is important to you when you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    26
    10
    1
See reviews for
41
2
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean. Nice bar and restaurant. Hotel is a bit old, but nice. Friendly and helpful staff. There is an Applebee's and Wal mart within a 5 min walk. The value I rated as excellent because I did not pay for room...but I would and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jcsflyboy,
Thank you for your post. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and enjoy the team we have employed here. Thanks again for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel was average, Staff was friendly. The room we stayed in was clean but was very dated and gave the impression of being old. The Bed was worn-out, overly soft and squeaked at every movement. The bedding was comfortable but did not help with the sleep. The atrium area was a nice gathering spot for groups but made the interior loud which carried through to the rooms. The Breakfast was good but pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear rsell05,
We're delighted to hear that you had a good stay and that our staff provided great customer service. We will forward your areas of improvement comments to the appropriate teams so that we may better serve you the next time you are here. Thanks again for providing feedback. We hope you will stay with us again soon when you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on college visit from Pa. Hotel dated but decent. Beds nice. Staff at checkin (midnight) not very knowledgable or friendly .We asked about shuttle van (thought was available thru hotel)- and one was sitting in front of hotel when we got there. The women on the phone whom I booked stay with told me about hotel shuttle, He didn't seem to know about the shuttle to Purdue and handed us a brochure for a limo? Breakfast at hotel &10 a person and NOT worth the money!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear dotravel,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent travel to Purdue University. We apologize your stay was not as satisfactory as you had hoped. We do have a shuttle available for drop offs and pick ups within the local area. We will forward your comments to our front desk team and ensure everyone is aware of the shuttle service we provide. Breakfast is not complimentary at Four Points, however, is available for a minimal fee. There are also hotel packages and rates that include breakfast. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this location because they were the host hotel for an event that my family was involved in over the holiday weekend. Because many other families associated with this event stayed there also, the set-up of the location was perfect for the kids and adults to hang out. The large pool area had lots of tables and chairs for us to gather in as well as clusters of other sofas and chairs throughout the lobby area where we could meet and talk. I loved that there were a few computers right in the lobby so that we didn't have to be in the business center. We used them to look up places to eat.

The sleeping rooms were clean and the beds were so comfortable - I love the bedding! Our A/C made a weird ticking noise all night but it did not disrupt our sleep at all. I was impressed with how quiet the hotel was, even though I know that there were lots of people in the rooms around us. We were on the bottom floor and we heard nothing from above us and zero parking lot noise.

The front desk staff was also very pleasant and helpful.

I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I heard that the rooms facing the pool/rec area are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear mamaa92,
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay and had a great weekend. We're thrilled that you like our Four Points Comfort bed, took advantage of our large indoor pool, and computer terminals for your convenience. Thank you for sharing and we hope host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went to do mom's weekend at Purdue and late booking hotel so this was my best choice at the time. Only available was king suite....it was Surprisingly very nice, super roomy and comfy. Very spacious and would be good for whole family! Had micro & fridge! The hotel is older but has indoor pool and for a family with kids this would be a great way to wear them out in the cold winter months! Nice lobby with computers and staff was always helpful. Still needs a little up-dating to make it perfect but they are on their way. Super convenient to Campus...better than staying out near interstate. Will stay here again for next Purdue visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear travelford,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that it was comfortable. We can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

1) When the heat kicked on it sounded like a jet engine, I woke up every single time it kicked on, unreal!!!! I'm now on little sleep if any.
2) Telling me the WiFi is slow because a lot of people are using the internet is lame, the whole Purdue campus is WiFi and no one has a problem. Perhaps it's the router, duh, but it's free so what the heck.
3) No exhaust fan in the bathroom? Really?
4) The shower gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower are the same, yuck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear hockeygolfer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We’re sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have forwarded your feedback to our team so they may take action on fixing some of the items you mentioned. As for Internet access, thanks for letting us know that it was not running as fast as you would like. We will look into options to increase bandwidth as it is our goal to provide our guests with great service and comfortable stays. Thanks again for sharing and we hope you will give us another chance to host you when you’re traveling to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Address: 1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette is just a mile from the Purdue University campus and the Research Park. Onsite we offer over 11,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza West Lafayette
Hotel University Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.