We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Purdue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in West Lafayette
Frankfort, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Close to Purdue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel was average, Staff was friendly. The room we stayed in was clean but was very dated and gave the impression of being old. The Bed was worn-out, overly soft and squeaked at every movement. The bedding was comfortable but did not help with the sleep. The atrium area was a nice gathering spot for groups but made the interior loud which carried through to the rooms. The Breakfast was good but pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear rsell05,
We're delighted to hear that you had a good stay and that our staff provided great customer service. We will forward your areas of improvement comments to the appropriate teams so that we may better serve you the next time you are here. Thanks again for providing feedback. We hope you will stay with us again soon when you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
39
1
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on college visit from Pa. Hotel dated but decent. Beds nice. Staff at checkin (midnight) not very knowledgable or friendly .We asked about shuttle van (thought was available thru hotel)- and one was sitting in front of hotel when we got there. The women on the phone whom I booked stay with told me about hotel shuttle, He didn't seem to know about the shuttle to Purdue and handed us a brochure for a limo? Breakfast at hotel &10 a person and NOT worth the money!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear dotravel,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent travel to Purdue University. We apologize your stay was not as satisfactory as you had hoped. We do have a shuttle available for drop offs and pick ups within the local area. We will forward your comments to our front desk team and ensure everyone is aware of the shuttle service we provide. Breakfast is not complimentary at Four Points, however, is available for a minimal fee. There are also hotel packages and rates that include breakfast. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this location because they were the host hotel for an event that my family was involved in over the holiday weekend. Because many other families associated with this event stayed there also, the set-up of the location was perfect for the kids and adults to hang out. The large pool area had lots of tables and chairs for us to gather in as well as clusters of other sofas and chairs throughout the lobby area where we could meet and talk. I loved that there were a few computers right in the lobby so that we didn't have to be in the business center. We used them to look up places to eat.

The sleeping rooms were clean and the beds were so comfortable - I love the bedding! Our A/C made a weird ticking noise all night but it did not disrupt our sleep at all. I was impressed with how quiet the hotel was, even though I know that there were lots of people in the rooms around us. We were on the bottom floor and we heard nothing from above us and zero parking lot noise.

The front desk staff was also very pleasant and helpful.

I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I heard that the rooms facing the pool/rec area are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear mamaa92,
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay and had a great weekend. We're thrilled that you like our Four Points Comfort bed, took advantage of our large indoor pool, and computer terminals for your convenience. Thank you for sharing and we hope host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went to do mom's weekend at Purdue and late booking hotel so this was my best choice at the time. Only available was king suite....it was Surprisingly very nice, super roomy and comfy. Very spacious and would be good for whole family! Had micro & fridge! The hotel is older but has indoor pool and for a family with kids this would be a great way to wear them out in the cold winter months! Nice lobby with computers and staff was always helpful. Still needs a little up-dating to make it perfect but they are on their way. Super convenient to Campus...better than staying out near interstate. Will stay here again for next Purdue visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear travelford,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that it was comfortable. We can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

1) When the heat kicked on it sounded like a jet engine, I woke up every single time it kicked on, unreal!!!! I'm now on little sleep if any.
2) Telling me the WiFi is slow because a lot of people are using the internet is lame, the whole Purdue campus is WiFi and no one has a problem. Perhaps it's the router, duh, but it's free so what the heck.
3) No exhaust fan in the bathroom? Really?
4) The shower gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower are the same, yuck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear hockeygolfer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We’re sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have forwarded your feedback to our team so they may take action on fixing some of the items you mentioned. As for Internet access, thanks for letting us know that it was not running as fast as you would like. We will look into options to increase bandwidth as it is our goal to provide our guests with great service and comfortable stays. Thanks again for sharing and we hope you will give us another chance to host you when you’re traveling to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed at this property twice. The first time in September 2012 and again in April 2013.

The September visit was a room with a Suite and King size bed. There were two rooms, one sitting area with TV fridge and microwave and another room with the bed and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable but the shower tile and the toilet handle were in need of significant repair.

In April, we stayed here because there was a function at the hotel on Saturday. The room we had faced the indoor pool area. Due to multiple special events that weekend, all hotels had a prepay policy when making a reservation.

I should have asked for a room not facing the indoor pool and game area. It was very loud from 0830 am until 1100 pm. To make matters worse, the heating and air conditioning unit was so loud with a screeching and clunking sound, it woke me up every time it cycled on and off. The front desk was not able to accommodate a room change because they were sold out. The cost was also the highest I have ever paid for a room at a Four Points. Essentially, the prepaid rate was as much as I would usually pay ($239 per night) to stay at the full service Sheraton, not the Starwood lower end Four Points property.

Given the cost, noise and the condition of the air/heating unit, I will look for other options for a hotel room, even though less convenient to Purdue.

On a positive note, the food and banquet service for our event was very good. I would recommend having an event there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Ann N,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry your stay did not meet your expectations and was not as comfortable as you had hoped. We apologize for any inconvenience you had with issues to your room. We have forwarded your comments to our Engineering team so that they may take a look at the issues you experienced. Thank you again for sharing and we hope you’ll give us another chance to host you in the future. Please feel free to reach out to us in advance to request a room not facing the pool and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Please note I have given the facility an average rating and also note I would stay there again, but how this ever got a Sherton Four Points status is beyond me. I am not very familar with the area or it's history, but the design of the hotel looks just like the Holiday Inn facilities that included a "Holidome" from the early 1980's. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bath was clean, but the tile floor was very dated.

The front desk staff was courteous and check in and out was fine. I used the fitness center and all was fine except the televisions did not work.

Buffet breakfast was good. I don't know what it cost as it was included with my conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Address: 1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette is just a mile from the Purdue University campus and the Research Park. Onsite we offer over 11,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza West Lafayette
Hotel University Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.