We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Purdue, but facility is a trip back to the 1980's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Convenient to Purdue, but facility is a trip back to the 1980's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Please note I have given the facility an average rating and also note I would stay there again, but how this ever got a Sherton Four Points status is beyond me. I am not very familar with the area or it's history, but the design of the hotel looks just like the Holiday Inn facilities that included a "Holidome" from the early 1980's. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bath was clean, but the tile floor was very dated.

The front desk staff was courteous and check in and out was fine. I used the fitness center and all was fine except the televisions did not work.

Buffet breakfast was good. I don't know what it cost as it was included with my conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
43
2
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed overnight to visit my son at Purdue. Danielle at the front desk was very nice and knowledgeable making the check-in process quick and easy.

The housekeeping department could use a little help. I found a sock in our room that did not belong to any of us and the bathroom floors around the baseboards really should be cleaned.

Overall a very nice family place to stay and play.

Room Tip: The rooms around the atrium area are very noisy especially in the morning when you are trying to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We most recently stayed here while visiting our son in college. The room was spacious and clean. There is a pool, hot tub, and workout room if you're so inclined. The breakfast bar was fresh and the food was delish! You can park easily, (which can be challenging at Purdue!), and it's just a few minutes from campus. It's close to a gigantic Walmart and Applebee's as well. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the atrium are noisier, but if you're planning to use the pool, they are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Big place with an atrium/pool in the middle. Seems to me this place is pretty old and tired, and in need of a little facelift. The carpet in my room was threadbare leading to the bathroom, and it was kinda dark.

The staff was friendly and attentive, and it's in a good location close to Purdue (if that's what you're interested in).

The fitness center looked like it had been redone recently - new equipment in excellent condition! However, the water bottle was empty when I arrived. I called to the desk and they said they would replace it. By the time I left an hour later, it still wasn't replaced. Pretty bad to not have water available in the fitness center!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
478 reviews 478 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually a nice surprise - moved here from the econo lodge - quiet, large room, price is reasonable and newly remodelled room. Its not the Ritz, but just fine and easy to get into and out of town from here. Probably will be back. It also has the high quality beds installed, so just like a Westin in sleep quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, most recently at the end of November 2012. Under the new Sheraton Management there have been a lot of improvements, including fresh carpeting throughout and live plants that take chlorine smell out of the atrium pool area. The front desk staff was exceptional, and everything in the room was in good working order. On Friday afternoon I had the pool to myself and enjoyed a nice long soak in the very clean hot tub. Kudos to the new management!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor outside hall if you want to avoid the noise of kids playing in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Asked for a room away from people noise and got the bottom of the barrel. Hair behind bathroom door, not fresh and clean room, still heard noises from pool plus the chlorine smell, light bulb burnt out. Did not get my value for the price I paid. Would not recommend staying here until they remodel the building.

Room Tip: check room before moving luggage in & check behind bathroom doors for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Address: 1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette is just a mile from the Purdue University campus and the Research Park. Onsite we offer over 11,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza West Lafayette
Hotel University Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.