We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Renovations, Better Management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Renovations, Better Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, most recently at the end of November 2012. Under the new Sheraton Management there have been a lot of improvements, including fresh carpeting throughout and live plants that take chlorine smell out of the atrium pool area. The front desk staff was exceptional, and everything in the room was in good working order. On Friday afternoon I had the pool to myself and enjoyed a nice long soak in the very clean hot tub. Kudos to the new management!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor outside hall if you want to avoid the noise of kids playing in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    29
    13
    3
See reviews for
45
2
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Asked for a room away from people noise and got the bottom of the barrel. Hair behind bathroom door, not fresh and clean room, still heard noises from pool plus the chlorine smell, light bulb burnt out. Did not get my value for the price I paid. Would not recommend staying here until they remodel the building.

Room Tip: check room before moving luggage in & check behind bathroom doors for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Has SPG name and that's it. Run down and in serious needs of upgrades to match other SPG properties. I agree with the other recent reviewer-walls thin, loud outside, esp later at night (walmart across the street), lousy and inexperienced service, and well-worn bldg...and just did not have that clean feel. Maid service did not clean all of the bathroom. Bed was good and only nice thing. TV took forever to change a channel, not sure why. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved the location, close to campus, dog friendly (no extra fee), great freshly made- to- order omelets at breakfast, nice and clean pool! Professional and polite employees. Bed and tv could not have been nicer. Looks like they were refurbishing this room then stopped. Lamp had holes in shade and base was cracked. There was caulking on bathroom floor like someone just got lazy. Walls by ceiling cracked and no climate control. Ask for fully refurbished room and you should be happy! Had outside room away from pool and it was very quiet. Outside lights by Door 2 were out which could be a secuity risk. Liked it here more than disliked it...just needs a little more work.

Room Tip: Ask for fully refurbished room. Outside rooms with windows are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am a repeat guest of The Four Points West Lafayette and a long time member of Starwood. This hotel is a pleasant find. The MGMT and Staff are excellent and continue to improve. The hotel has various facilities, such as an indoor pool, nice in the winter, a nice medium size fitness center, hotel is clean and well cared for. Acutualy, much over looked, a good bar and dinning. The location is a few miles away from downtown and Purdue University

Room Tip: A good clean, well Managed and Staffed hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

When we booked this room it said all the rooms face the pool and game area. That was incorrect. Our room had one window which overlooked a parking lot for the hotel. This was great for us because we sleep late. Our room was super quiet and the bed was super comfortable. I can't believe how comfortable the beds and comforters were! Wish I couldve taken one of the pillows with home with me. The staff was friendly and courteous and the room was clean. The TV in the room is big and there was marble in the bathrooms which was nice. The view from the room was just a view of Wal -Mart which wasn't very scenic but thats the only bad thing I can say about this place. I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the pool area. Those rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Brought our daughter back to Purdue this past weekend. We travel there from northern Wisconsin and always stay two nights in West Lafayette. As the prior reviews point out this property was recently taken over by Sheraton. Having stayed there many times under the prior ownership I have noted the following changes. The bedding has been upgraded. Shampoo, Conditioner and bath soap is now in a wall attached dispenser. TV’s are now 42 inch HD sets with a good selection of programming. The entire property is wireless and does not dropout in the overnight hours if you leave your I-phone apps running. Bar prices have increased with beer selling for 4.50 a glass. The Tailgates sports bar and atrium breakfast restaurant remain. The location of the property is great being only 5 minutes from campus. This is a major plus in that most hotels are east of campus and depending on the time of day can take 20 minutes to get back to Purdue. Finally, the hotel is dated but clean and functional. If you want quiet, request an outside room away from the pool area and you’ll be fine.

Room Tip: You can have a room poolside but can be noisey if you turn in before the pool closes. It has not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Address: 1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette is just a mile from the Purdue University campus and the Research Park. Onsite we offer over 11,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza West Lafayette
Hotel University Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.