We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Zero Star Rating” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Campus Inn

Save Saved
You added Campus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Campus Inn
200 Brown St, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in West Lafayette
sf
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deserves Zero Star Rating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Purdue deserves better. Visiting parents of new entering freshman -- do NOT stay at this hotel. The city of West Lafayette should step in and condemn this property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    3
    5
    13
See reviews for
4
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I cannot say enough bad things about this place. Dirty, unsanitary, not worth $100/night. Not worth $50/night. Outrageously over priced. Management is thoroughly unhelpful, rude and unacoomodating. Particularly a man named Frank. There are 15 other places on rt. 26 to stay. Do that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campusinn, Manager at Campus Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Mr. Jarkuss reserved the room with one queen bed for Super Bowl weekend for two nights. Upon his check-in at midnight he realized he made a mistake & reserved 1 bed instead 2 beds. Though Campus Inn was not obligated to change the room type at check-in, the front desk personal informed him that we can change his room next day morning for second night provided he stop by next morning to complete the formalities. He voluntarily chose not to stop by next morning to change his room & arrived middle of night of his second night of stay to change the room.

We did our best to to resolve his problem but he chose not to take advantage of it instead he became rude to staff and to the manager middle of night because it didn't work the way he wanted.

We are sorry Mr. Jarkuss it didn't work out the way you wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

We were the only people in the "inn" until around 10. Management threatened to call police on my fiance and I when a friend stopped by room. Refused to give us more pillows or towels. Sex in the rooms on both sides of us was especially vigorous and loud for a Tuesday. Didn't get a bit of sleep. The other people in the "inn" left around 4 to give themselves enough time to sneak back into bed before their wives woke up.

I have no idea how this hotel is still in business. Do yourself a favor and shell out a few extra bucks for a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zumbrota, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place is quite a dive in poor shape. You would think you're back in the 60's. On the positive side, the beds were comfy and the location is perfect for Purdue activities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I recently stayed at the Campus Inn, West Lafayette (formally the Travelodge back when I was on campus) while attending the SE Missouri State v Purdue game. On football weekends, the rooms are $99/nt & have a two night minimum. The rooms should be about $39/nt. The furniture and linens were very worn. The room lacked basic cleanliness. The only reason I didn't give this establishment a 1-star is its proximity to campus and Chauncey Hill/Levee area businesses. With the recent re-development of Wabash Landing, it's amazing that the property has not been purchased and this out-dated motel knocked down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel one night while we visited the Purdue campus. The only positive thing I can say is that the person at the front desk when we checked in was very nice, helpful, and friendly. We knew we were only going to be there 10-12 hours at most, so we were looking for a bargain option, but wished we had paid more to stay elsewhere.

The room was filthy, stifling hot as the A/C had been turned off, and smelled! We were both nervous to sleep on the bedding, and stripped off everything but the sheets. The towels were threadbare, and the bathroom was disgusting, with mildew and rotting tiles in the shower. Beds were saggy too! WiFi was not working either. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Its bare bones if you are on a budget and need a bed and shower you might be happy here. It is a bit sketchy and too late to cancel my reservation. Don't use the free wifi. I got a virus on my computer that I couldn't get off and had to get professional help to resolve. The carpet was really gross as was the shower curtain and bed spread.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Inn

Address: 200 Brown St, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Campus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.