We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Lafayette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Club Hotel
Save
You added Union Club Hotel to your Saves list
101 North Grant Street, Purdue Memorial Union, West Lafayette, IN 47906   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Purdue. It was convenient since we took the shuttle from the airport to campus and did not rent a car. The hotel is old and full of character. We had a room with 2 double beds. The room was on the smaller side, but we did not spend much time in it. The room and bathroom were clean, although we had trouble with the tub draining slowly while taking a shower. The window in our room face a courtyard where the circulation unit must have been because it was too loud to have the window open.

Staying here definitely made our visit easy. There are plenty of fast food type places to eat in the Union and the surrounding area. One night we took the city bus into downtown Lafayette for dinner. The bus stop was just a block away, so access was easy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    42
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
6
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed one night at the Union Club Hotel while visiting Purdue. We had a "family room", which is a room with a double and a twin, and an attached (very small) room with a double. The rooms were on the small side, but fully equipped, quiet and very clean. Great beds. The bathroom was midsized and also very clean. The hotel is attached to the Purdue Memorial Union, at the center of campus, and parking for hotel guests is across the street in a large structure. The hotel has a reasonably equipped fitness room, and a guest laundry, with supplies available at the desk.
We had a complimentary breakfast at the restaurant on the second floor of the Union- attractive and ample hot buffet, well organized, and open at 6.30 am. Other meal options are the fast food outlets in the Union but be aware they are not open late night. Many restaurants a two or three block walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Union Club Hotel at Purdue University. The rooms were clean and tasteful, the employees helpful, and good food was available at the Union and also the Hotel restaurant. I would look forward to staying here again. Carol Todd

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located on the University grounds so it's very convenient. I was there for a cousin's wedding. The hotel is clean and the room was a very good size with 2 double beds. I give it only 4 stars since the elevators were quite a walk but other than that it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night for business at Purdue. Arrived in the evening (after a long flight and drive to Purdue) and was disappointed that room service was not offered at night. Too tired to drive around and find something to eat (and the restaurants attached to hotel were closed), I went to bed hungry!

Room was on the small size, but adequate. One downside, I was put on the first floor, and students constantly were walking outside of my bedroom...till late hours of the night. Just an FYI if you're a traveler and prefer not to look out your window on to street level!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Union Club Hotel is on the Purdue University campus. We chose this hotel because it was close to where my daughter's cheerleading clinic was being held. The hotel offers free weekend parking in the parking garage right across the street, and because it's connected to the student union, there are several food places, as well as a Starbucks in the adjoining building's lower level. We were given a family room, which is located at the back of the hotel, where it is quiet. Our room, 276, was at the end of the hall, (which was a little bit noisy when people used the exit door there in the middle of the night) and consisted of a main bedroom with double and twin beds, and another bedroom with a double bed. Everything was very clean. The bathroom, while a little dated, was spotless, big, and the shower was awesome. The overall hotel décor is updated with dark colors, and dark wood. I felt like I was in a historical hotel in Boston or Chicago. The staff were students, but unlike other hotels I've stayed at on college campuses, these students were attentive, kind, helpful and very professional. This was the first hotel I've ever stayed at that didn't charge me for receiving a fax! And, because in my haste to get the girls to their cheerleading clinic, I left my phone charger in the room. But I called the hotel when I realized it, on our drive home, and within a few days, my charger arrived at my home, shipped for free! Thank you Alyssa in Housekeeping for finding it and tagging it for me! Awesome!

Room Tip: If you get a family room, the one we had at the end of hall might not be good for babies or small ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I arrived after 24 hours of travelling looking forward to dinner and sleep. However, I was 'greeted' by reception staff who were more interested in chatting amongst themselves than in doing their job. Paperwork was thrown onto the desk & I was given the impression that serving customers was just an inconvenience in their day. When I asked where the restaurant was, I was told I'd have to sort that out myself. Checking out was no more pleasant. There did not appear to be any managers about to make a complaint. The room itself was comfortable, but rather dated and small. Based on the room alone, this would be an adequate hotel, but until new receptionists are hired I cannot recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Club Hotel

Address: 101 North Grant Street, Purdue Memorial Union, West Lafayette, IN 47906
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Number of rooms: 190
Also Known As:
Union Hotel West Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.