We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Lafayette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Club Hotel
101 North Grant Street, Purdue Memorial Union, West Lafayette, IN 47906   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in West Lafayette
chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent location and service. Rooms are updated and very clean. Staff helpful and friendly at check in. Wish every college had a hotel connected to college. Would stay again. Stay on 5th floor for quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
6
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel while on a collge visit with our son. Parking is in a garage directly across the street and the hotel itself is in the heart of campus - ideally situated. The property is part of the Union building which houses a great group of eateries and the 2nd largest Starbucks on a college campus in the state of Indiana. Our room was a deluxe double and was spacious, beds were fine, and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom could use some updating. Decor is Purdue related but subtly so -- well done. Staff was very helpful and we appreciated their directions and tips for the area. If our son is accepted at Purdue and attends there we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed there when I was on campus for work. Parking is free for hotel guests and the hotel is connected to the student union which had several food options. I was there for 2.5 days, I parked my car when I got there and didn't move it till I left.

That being said, I stayed in a handicap accessible room (I guess that is what they had left) and the bathroom was certainly handicap accessible. The bathroom was tiled and the drain in the middle, there was rails on the shower walls and a seat you could transfer too. For someone who doesn't need a handicap room, it wasn't ideal since the bathroom floor got wet pretty much in all areas you would also get ready in - if you are wheelchair bound, this shower set-up should work well. However, the doors open out, toward the space you would be sitting if you were in a wheel chair so it would be hard to get the door open to get in the bathroom and harder to close.

The bedroom area didn't seem very handicap accessible. I know my grandpa wouldn't be able to get his wheel chair between the bed and a chair that was in the room. There was a desk next to the headboard of the bed, so if you did push back the chair to roll up to the bed, you would have to enter the middle of the bed, if you cant use your legs it would be hard.

No breakfast is included, they do have a basket of apples and I went there for a midnight snack.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

SUMMARY: Small rooms; OK service; very clean

DETAILS: Next time I'll stay somewhere else. The rooms were very small, to the point of being uncomfortable. The Internet was OK. Relatively expensive. I got the impression it survives because of school functions and parents. Every spare space in the room is occupied by beds, probably for visiting (large) families.

Room Tip: Don't get a one bedroom suite. You won't have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night while on campus for business. Can't beat the parking and the hotel is beautiful evoking historical elements while still having all the modern conveniences. Showers have great water pressure, colors throughout are calming, Internet options are included and work great (look for the Ethernet cable in the desk drawer if you prefer wired Internet but didn't bring a cable along - oops).

My complaints are minor. Unless I'm missing something there is only one ice/vending area and it is on the first floor around the corner from the elevators - a mighty long walk if you are on the fifth floor at the opposite end. Secondly, is the "maze" like feel getting to the elevator from the lobby - long but not confusing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of a conference my husband is attending on campus. It was booked by the conference. Check in was fast. We were given a room on the 5th floor (the top floor). Now getting to the room was like going through a maze but we didn't mind. We had a room that had a double bed plus a twin bed. Space was tight. There was a desk, TV, closet was small...bathroom was ok with enough counter space. The towels were fluffy and plenty. Now every hotel should find out which kind of a/c Union club uses. It's the quietest I've ever experienced. We had it on all night for 5 nights and slept like pigs!!!!!! The hotel lobby was spacious. It's connected to the Purdue Memorial Union. Since my husband was attending a conference and he could eat from any of the eateries in the union, we frequented them everyday for every meal. Very convenient. Chauncy Hill village is simply next block with shops/eateries/a public library. We had to check out super early on Saturday morning and found that the union eateries weren't open...perhaps it's because of summer schedule....But we found Einstein Bros. Bagels open at 6am 2 blocks away. Then if you walk a few more blocks down the hill there's a McD open 24 hr !!!
Anyways, the hotel is a great place to stay if you are doing something on campus. No frills though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel during the STAR program. Our first night was in a standard room on the fourth floor. We absolutely loved this room. The beds were very comfortable and it was totally quiet. We decided to stay a second night but had to move to an "upgraded" room on the first floor. I am quite sure that if we had stayed in this room the first night, we would not have stayed the second night. This room was very uncomfortable. It was extremely noisy and the bed was not pleasant. The front desk people are very nice and the location can't be beat. However, when you book, make sure you are on the upper levels.

Room Tip: 4th floor is fabulous!! Ground floor is too loud!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Club Hotel

Address: 101 North Grant Street, Purdue Memorial Union, West Lafayette, IN 47906
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in West Lafayette
Also Known As:
Union Hotel West Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Union Club Hotel to your Saves list