We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, but fulfilling!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McGraw's Steak Chop and Fish

McGraw's Steak Chop and Fish
2707 S River Rd, West Lafayette, IN
765.743.3932
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Classy, but fulfilling!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Mcgraws is a little pricy, but it's the old saying you get what you pay for! Great food, service, and atmosphere. It's located on the river!! Great wine and spirits selection. 5 stars!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Central Indiana
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Disappointed by a large loud crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were looking forward to our dinner at McGraw's on a Friday night. We decided to take our Purdue kids to dinner as they were tired of dorm food. We were looking forward to a nice night out and good conversation with our college kids. Our dinner was totally devastated by a crowd of 10 people who arrived in a RV ready to party. These were middle aged adults who had been drinking for a while and when they arrived they took over the restaurant. Our dinner was ruined as we could not even hear the conversation from across the table. We complained to our waitress but there was no manager available who would deal with this crowd of noisy partiers. We were greatly disappointed that our table of 6 was treated inferior to the party of 10. So we won't be back. I

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I visited McGraw's for the first time the other night for a job-related dinner. We got there before sunset, so I was able to enjoy the lovely view of the Wabash River and the surrounding fall foliage. I ordered the NY strip, which was a perfect medium-rare and quite tasty. We also indulged in some desserts (bread pudding, carrot cake) which were also very good.

The service was terrific. The young woman who served our table was attentive without being overbearing, and her timing for refills, plate collection, and inquiries about our needs was perfect. As all good service does, she improved the quality of our experience.

This was by no means the best meal I've ever had, but it was certainly above average. Given the nice setting, the generally reasonable prices (not inexpensive, but not overpriced), and the excellent service, I expect to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great impromptu dinner and visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stopped by to have drinks and dinner during visit to Purdue earlier this week. The menu and wine list are extensive. The owner, Todd, was very generous with his time as well as some tastes of his better wine selections. The food was well prepared and presented with good value. The setting along the river is quite nice. The renovation of this old restaurant has been nicely done and judging by the many locals at dinner, it has maintained a high acceptance within the community.

Look forward to stopping by again on our twice a year visit to Purdue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hidden gem along the Walbash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wonderful food and service and would recommend reservations with a window view. I've never had the same meal twice and everything I've chosen has been wonderful. My favorite is their Honey Bourdon Salmon. I've had salmon in many restaurants in many cities and this my favorite. Normally I never get a dessert but this is the only place where I splurge. Great wine selection too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGraw's Steak Chop and Fish also viewed

 

Been to McGraw's Steak Chop and Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGraw's Steak Chop and Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.