We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we had hoped for over lunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Happy China

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy China
219 E State St, West Lafayette, IN 47906-3222
765-743-1666
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 116 Restaurants in West Lafayette
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
West Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not what we had hoped for over lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The A/C must not have been working on Monday when we had lunch at Happy China, since it was extremely hot?? The food was average at best and I don't plan to return. My friend had the same impression. The Lafayette area has several other better choices.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have ordered from here a few times. The food tastes good. I've had better and I have had worse. The prices are pretty cheap too. Their customer service however is completely non-existent. It is really hard to place the order in the first place because of their accent, and once you say what you want, they hang up, without giving you the total price or estimated time of delivery. Then some mystery amount of minutes later they come to your door and about 70% of the time the order is wrong. And twice now, the driver has come back with NO change. That is, we told them we would pay with cash, our order was about $11 or something like that, we only had a twenty dollar bill and the driver said....'uh...I only have about a dollar in change...." This has happened twice now, so if you purchase from them pay with a credit card before hand since the business seem to be incompetent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“huge portions, my favorite chinese takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I love the lunch special here. The portions are very large. My favorite dishes are kung pao chicken, hot and sour soup, steamed dumplings, and the chicken lo mein. Definetly take out. The seating in the restaurant is not too good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like eating spiders this is the place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Didn't even take a bite after seeing a spider crawl out of my general tso's chicken. Completely disgusting.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“My favorite fast Chinese. Delicious food, good price, and quick service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

My favorite fast Chinese. Delicious food, good price, and quick service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy China also viewed

 

Been to Happy China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.