We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for Purdue visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 E. State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47906   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good stay for Purdue visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My son and I spent one night in August for a campus visit. The hotel is in a good location - a few blocks from campus (albeit up a good sized hill) and close to some restaurants. Also a short walk across the bridge to downtown Lafayette. Everything was fine - clean, comfortable, efficient - and we received very good service from the front desk staff. My only negative was the breakfast. They charge $9 each for their so-called buffet, which had fewer choices than most hotels' free breakfast, and it was not very good. I would stay there again but would go three doors down to the Panera for breakfast instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your opinions are very important to us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize that our breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations though. We try to offer as many items as we can on the hot and cold buffets and items made to order from the chef as well such as eggs anyway, pancakes, french toast, skillets, etc but if you have other suggestions on other items we could offer we would love to hear then. We welcome ideas from our guests that can improve our hotel.

Thank you again for the positive review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    93
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
32
27
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here while taking a seminar class at Purdue. The hotel in close to multiple restaurants and only a short walk to campus. My room was clean and comfortable., although basic as consistent with this chain. The breakfast buffet is generous, but I don’t know that it is worth the price charged. And it would be nice if the parking was free, although $3 per night was not outrageous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we value our guests opinions. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that if you are back in the West Lafayette area that you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our A/C went out at home needed a place to stay. HGI was very clean, comfortable. Great location walking distance for food, ice cream, movie theater, Purdue. Great little coffee shop called Java Roaster on 3rd street in downtown Lafayette, just a quick walk over pedestrian bridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review and we were happy that we could be your "cool relief"! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and please come back anytime, even if the AC is not broken.

Warm regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great place to stay at while visiting purdue university. Conveniently located close to the movie theater and restaurants. If you arrive by amtrak, the hotel is easy walking distance making a car unnecessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Christy Kuntz
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is located in a small shopping center, probably within a mile of campus. The room was clean and quiet. We had requested a room on the river side on the upper level prior to arrival and were accommodated. The beds were firm but very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is about $9-$10, but had a nice selection of eggs, cereals, made to order french toast, fruit, oatmeal and waffles. The small shopping center included a couple of name brand coffee shops, including one that serves sandwiches and salads. It also had a pub, movie theatre and hair salon. The only drawback is the confusing layout of the the outside one hour parking lot. There is a parking structure for overnight parking at a small fee, but it is a little inconvenient for quick, frequent trips into and out of the hotel. The one hour exterior parking has traffic flow that can only be accessed from the middle of the block which makes it difficult to access when you are checking and need a quick place to park for a short duration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in West Lafayette and hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything was great--would probably stay again. Hot tub wasn't working but no big deal--hope you get that fixed by the next time we get there. Overall, we enjoy staying at Hilton properties and have very few issues over the years we have been members and participated in the program. It's been a good value and we have encouraged others to join .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review, we are so glad that we exceeded your exceptions. I do apologize for the spa being out of service during your stay, when we do have issues arise we try to get them corrected as quickly as possible as to not inconvenience our guests. Thank you for understanding this.

Again, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

it is nice and close to campus, the honors benefits were not outstanding but it works when you want to be walking distance to campus. The staff was friendly and we watched them deal with "no speak english" or at least not well clients in front of us before we got checked in with great patience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The staff and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette

Address: 356 E. State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette Hotel West Lafayette
Hilton West Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.