We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Snobbery with Fair Trade Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greyhouse Coffee & Supply Co

Greyhouse Coffee & Supply Co
100 Northwestern Ave, West Lafayette, IN
765-743-5316
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Local Snobbery with Fair Trade Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are like me, you want a home-town coffee house that you can snuggle into in the aftermath of the nasty winters that living anywhere north of the Mason-Dixon line in the US can bring. Enter Greyhouse Coffee & Supply Co. to dreary West Lafayette, IN. It's as though this swampy portion of the midwest and that dreary green isle from which we spring merged for some comfort. And thats exactly what you'll find from Greyhouse... comfort, and great coffee and tea - as English or American as you'd like it to be. Greyhouse, unlike the plastic Starbucks that adorn the WL/L area (Salisbury, forgive me, I do love you!) - you'll want to return to Greyhouse and drink a while...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A paragon of cafes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

You will find that Greyhouse does everything the way it should be done, no cutting corners. The baristas actually know what they are doing and can give me the best espresso I have ever had. They french press all of their coffees and have a selection of four varieties daily. They make their own sauces for the drinks, just try a Dr. Strangelove. Even their whipped cream is made from scratch. On top of all this, the staff at Greyhouse are extremely personable and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is warm and intelligent, very inviting for studying or taking some time to relax. I've found that other cafes in the area don't come close, especially the one just down the street.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great espresso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The espresso is unique. I really enjoy it. I drink it as is, no sugar, no milk. It has a special & unique sweetness. The crepes are a great breakfast, unfortunately it does not open until 7:00 AM or 8:00 AM, and its difficult to coordinate a visit when I have early morning activities at the Purdue campus. Overall a nice warm atmosphere, a place where you feel like hanging out, relaxing and enjoying the moment. They always have nice dark chocolate and gelato as well. There are usually 4 or 5 people waiting for service, its a very popular place, within walking distance of the Purdue campus.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to study/grade/hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Probably the most popular coffee spot in W. Lafayette, but also crowded, thanks to the warm ambiance. Sometimes closed during semester breaks, so call ahead.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best crepes in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I love coming here for crepes and coffee. The crepes are amazing. They need more sitting space, but I guess that shows that others like this place as much as I do!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greyhouse Coffee & Supply Co also viewed

 

Been to Greyhouse Coffee & Supply Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greyhouse Coffee & Supply Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.