We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Go - nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Chocolate Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harry's Chocolate Shop
329 W State St, West Lafayette, IN
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 116 Restaurants in West Lafayette
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Must Go - nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

It's a college bar that has been there forever. It has a special place in the hearts of Purdue grads. But to give it a true restaurant review; it is average. The food is OK but nothing special. If you go at night it is too busy to enjoy a meal. At night it is a college bar. Go Boilers.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Purdue Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been to Harry's several times and have yet to eat anything other than the popcorn. (very good). Yes, the place is old and somewhat worn,(understatement), but frankly, that is how I remember the college bars of my day. I call it character. And, the drinks are cheap and served by some friendly bartenders and servers.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I kept hearing from all my friends that I just HAD to check this place out. It always looked packed at night so I decided to go for lunch. I had the fish and chips and it was alright. Nothing really memorable about it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Harry's Chocolate Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Harry's is a true classic. Great venue, great food and great beverages. The place is dripping with nostalgia. An all time favorite of mine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth visiting if in West Lafayette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A nice, local Purdue bar that offers fresh and free popcorn and many different types of beer -- with most of them served in a plastic cup. Gets all kinds in the doors - from the 21 year old drunken college girls to the middle aged professorial types.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Chocolate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Chocolate Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.