A couple of weeks ago my wife and I spent the weekend at the West Baden Hotel. We loved the room and the place is beautiful. The service however, left a lot to be desired. We experienced six different service lapses:
• When we checked in there were 6 associates at the desk and only one other couple checking in. Two of the associates were helping the couple, two were on the phone and two appeared to be available. I approached the two associates who were available and they told me to wait for one of the associates who was on the phone. The two “available” associates appeared to be performing an administrative task and their message to me was basically that completing the administrative task at hand was more important than checking in myself and my 7 months pregnant wife . We ended up having to wait for the associate who was on the phone, which took a full five minutes. I’m not sure a hotel can tell guests they are not valued any more than this. 6 associates behind the desk at 4pm on a Friday, and none of them could help us. Completely unacceptable and rude service.
• We went to the Power Plant restaurant at the French Lick resort that evening and after waiting 15 minutes for our order the waitress told us that when our food came out “she didn’t like the way it looked.” She said a second order was on its way. After a few minutes we flagged down the manager, who admitted that the waitress had simply not submitted our order. When the food came out the French fries were cold. We asked for hot fries, which took extra time to prepare. On top of this our servers didn’t bring silverware, and never checked on us again after bringing the silverware.
• When I accidentally nearly knocked over a stack of rolled towels at the spa, the 60-ish year female old attendant said, albeit in a joking manner: “If those towels had hit the floor I would have hit you.” (!)
• Room service delivered dinner to us without the soup we ordered, and while we waited for the soup to arrive, our entrees got cold. To add insult to this, there was an automatic 18% gratuity added on to the bill. It irked me to sign for poor service.
• Housekeeping didn’t show up until 4pm one day. We told her we would be out in 5 minutes, and we were. But after we cleared out of the room for an hour for the sole purpose of leaving it empty so it could be cleaned, we came back to find she was working on another room, and hadn’t done ours.
• The WiFi signal in our room wasn’t very good, so we called the front desk to get a LAN cable. They said they would be right up with it, but never came.
Granted some of these are pretty minor, but the lapses just kept on coming, and it got to the point where we were wondering what was going to go wrong next, as opposed to enjoying the resort’s purported excellent service.
When we complained at check-out, the front office manager (Meagan Nolly) was very gracious and comped our accommodations, which was tremendous. We only had to pay for our spa treatment, restaurant, etc. But she also told us she would pass our complaints on to Steve MacKinnon, the Director of Hotel Operations and that we would likely hear from him at some point. She also told us we would receive in the mail ½ price vouchers for a return stay. It’s been two weeks and we haven’t heard from MacKinnon or received any vouchers.
All in all, while the resort was beautiful and historic, our experience was quite terrible. By my tally, there was a failure in nearly every service phase of our stay. I couldn’t recommend a stay here to anyone. I felt that if the resort had followed through with Ms. Nolly’s voucher offer, I would feel satisfied that my voice had been heard, and I wouldn’t go ahead and post unfavorable reviews on the travel websites I use. But since there now has been a seventh failure in service, that is exactly what I am doing.
The rooms on the exterior of the hotel appear to be larger.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience. As this is not the way we typically take care of our guests, it is very diappointing to hear. I know that our apology cannot erase the experience you had, but I hope that you can feel confident that your concerns have been heard and we are in the process addressing all of the issues. I know that you have been in contact with Steve since your review, but if there is anything else I can do to assist you please feel free to contact my office directly at (812) 936-5514.
Report response as inappropriate
Guest Services Manager
West Baden Springs Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.