We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet and clean, great desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1808 East National Highway, Washington, IN 47501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Washington
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very quiet and clean, great desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express over a weekend with a large group of friends. My wife and I found the front desk very efficient and super friendly. Our room was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast in the kitchenette area of the front lobby was well staffed and constantly replenished with volumes of hot coffee. We found housekeeping did a great job while we were out of our room during the day. No surprises the entire weekend. Would definitely stay here again! We were even served hot cookies late at night. Our group also reserved the party/meeting room which was well stocked with chairs and tables as we had requested.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
6
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sagamihara, Japan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a 3-star hotel in a small town. They let me check in 2-hours early. The manager takes pride in the hotel, spends time training staff, and clearly takes care of the regulars. Breakfast alternates between scrambled eggs and bacon and Western omelette and sausage. They also offer cereal, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, English muffins, bagels, yogurt, bananas, condiments, milk and coffee. Rooms are a reasonable size. I like the way the TV swivels so it be easily seen from anywhere in the room. I also like the TV turning on to same channel it was on when I turned it off. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend as we attended our grandson's HS graduation. Usually we stay with our daughter but with much family in town this was a wiser, less hectic choice!!. Having lived in Washington for a few years in the past I fully understood what choices were available and since we often stay at HIE on the road this was a no-brainer choice. Stayed in the Presidential Suite. Not really Presidential but on second thought a little more what our President should be staying in that what he does when on the road. Everything worked, was clean and quiet. Only problem that I saw was that the lady that was the breakfast hostess really wanted to wrap it up early each morning. Scheduled from 5:30-9:30 she would not make any effort to refill food items after 9. Having watched other guests come down at 9:15 only to find little food remaining I asked her on our last morning if she was going to refill the scrambled eggs since it was empty. She said "No, breakfast ends at 9:30." I stated that it was only 9:10 and not close to 9:30 and she huffed a little then went off to make more scrambled eggs. At least 3 more guests accessed them before 9:30. I get not wanting to waste food but I also understand that HIE charges a little more for their rooms to provide this service and should be willing to provide it until the stated end time. I discussed this with the manager on check out and maybe it will be alleviated for future travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear SIBoiler2,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations and value your feedback.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was very pleased to arrive at this property in the midst of the proverbial “dark and stormy night.” I had business in the area and was pleased that there was a HIE property here. The location is near shopping, fast food, etc. so, even in a small town, you aren’t left without options. The room, service, and cleanliness were all very good. I would recommend staying here if you without reservation. The small town feel was also evident in the friendly and comfortable staff. Nice.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the back of the hotel and it was nice and quiet and no street or business no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

When I travel on business, I don't usually use many amenities, so I can only speak on the ones I do/did use.

The presidential suite was fine, everything worked as far as I could tell. My only complaint was that they had the AC cranked on high upon my arrival in Feb. It was an abnormally warm day, but that was excessive.

The breakfast was ok, although they had no yogurt in the cooler. I had to get the front desk guy to stock them, because he was playing in his phone in the back.

It was a very slow morning, so don't know how they perform on busy days.

Overall, if you don't ask for a lot, it's fine. The main reason I selected this location was that I could get a Pres Suite for only 5000 points, even though I have to work in Vincennes, IN.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very nice motel in small town Indiana. Friendly staff and clean, comfortable room. Morning breakfast was excellent. Fitness room and indoor swimming pool right off the lobby. The motel is located near many restaurants and has easy access to the new I-69.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in the "presidential suite" over night and it was far from being presidential. First off, the room reeked of cigarette smoke, and the heat didn't work right. We got this room specifically for the fold out bed in the couch for our daughters to sleep on, but were in for a surprise when we opened it. The mattress was filthy, had a hole in it, and was maybe 2 inches thick. We called the front office and since they were booked up, they had no extra roll-away beds.
Their solution was to drag in another couch that was too big to fit with out shoving it up against the nightstand and removing a floor lamp. So, we opened up this one and the mattress was even worse! The sides had been cut open and all the springs were exposed! We ended up folding it back up and having one child sleep on it and the other on the floor!
They were totally unprepared for the amount of people that would be eating the continental breakfast and ran out of food several times...oh yeah, and the elevator wouldn't work either.
The front desk people were very sympathetic to this and we didn't pay for our stay. But if I ever have to go back to Washington, Indiana...I won't be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana

Address: 1808 East National Highway, Washington, IN 47501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Washington. We are located in the heart of Indiana's Amish country, off Hwy 57 on East National Hwy. Guest rooms include Free High Speed Internet Access, hair dryer, coffeemaker, & ironing board. Spacious suites also have king-sized beds, kitchenettes, oversized whirlpool tubs, and working fireplaces. Complimentary express start breakfast is served daily! Central to everything in Washington, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel provides easy access to area corporations including Perdue Farms, Grain Processing Company, & IPL. Some of Indiana s most popular Amish communities are within 5 miles, including the Gasthoff Amish Village & Restaurant. Spring Mill State Park, Vincennes University, Holiday World Spashn Safari, & Paoli Peaks Ski Resort are also within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana Hotel Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.