We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Be Your Only Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   313 W Hill St, Wabash, IN   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Veterans and Ministers
Ranked #1 of 1 Wabash B&B and Inns
Raleigh
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should Be Your Only Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Question 1 - Why would you want a plastic card to open a single room when you can get a real key that opens a door to an entire house.
Question 2 - Why settle for a run of the mill breakfast, that you have to serve yourself, when you can BE served deliciously prepared dishes that are beautifully displayed and served at a time of your choosing.
This is what you will experience at Herrold on Hill. A beautiful 18 century home where Alan & Sandy will see that you have a wonderful stay and will go out of their normal duties to assist you anyway they can.
Choose any of the bedrooms - each are beautiful in their own way. But take advantage of the living room or parlor to read, watch TV or visit. But don't miss out on the screened porch, with a cool drink in hand, breeze blowing and listen to the trains and remember days gone by.
We stayed 3 nights in May 2014, had a great experience as you can tell, and left feeling the host and hostess are now our friends. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Logansport, Indiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I went to Herrold on Hill after discovering it by accident. When we got there, the innkeeper and his wife welcomed us with absolute open arms! I We felt like we were family coming home for a visit! The ambience was spectacular. The whole house was as clean as a whistle! I've never felt more welcomed ANYWHERE in my life. Both Alan and Sandy helped us with where to go and what was interesting about THEIR Wabash. Then there were the breakfasts. Alan is also a top notch chef. One morning it was quail eggs and home smoked pork loin. Another was mushroom and cheese omlette, a third was stuffed French Toast with Marscapone Cheese and pears. All of it was far above top notch! We loved it so much that we have booked our anniversary trip to go there and our anniversary isn't until NEXT April. Do yourself a favor. Check this place out! You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: There is a busy train track nearby but you soon learn to tune it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morning View, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My stay at the Herrold on Hill B & B was nothing short of splendid! From the wonderful bed with soft and luxurious linens to visiting in the evening by the gas fire in the parlor, this B&B was absolutely delightful! Did I mention how clean it is? The place is gleaming. The breakfasts are wonderful - quail eggs, asparagus, smoked pork roast, kale chip's, fresh fruit with creme fresh! These are just a sampling of morning menus. My stay lasted 3 nights and 3 days. I only hope I have the opportunity to return again - and soon. You could stay here for a unique experience or you could stay at a chain motel and have a hard boiled egg for breakfast.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! Each is beautifully furnished, quiet, clean, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avilla, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This beautifully restored 1885 Victorian mansion, with its marble & hardwood floors, comfortable beds, original works of art, and gracious, accommodating hosts (Alan & Sandy) is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway! Herrold on Hill's proximity to downtown Wabash is great for walking to the Honeywell Center, restaurants, antique shops, and Paradise Spring Historic Park and Riverwalk.

Breakfast was lovingly prepared and elegantly served in the chandelier & candlelit dining room. We enjoyed a leisurely meal of Maine blueberries atop organic vanilla yogurt, Saigon cinnamon-sprinkled Moroccan orange slices, sunny side up quail eggs (Yes! Healthy, tiny little delicacies!) crispy kale chips, tangerine citrus juice, hot tea, and baked cinnamon pecan French toast with sliced, fresh strawberries. Everything was scrumptious!

We definitely recommend Herrold on HIll, and hope to return in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairland, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Alan and Sandy took such great care of me. The room was clean, comfortable and beautiful. I stayed on Valentine's Day, so when I arrived I had a wonderful meal, graciously served by Sandy and Alan. Delicious! I was offered a sweet or savory breakfast. I chose savory and was treated to a healthy Eggs Benedict with quail eggs, yogurt, tangerine juice and asparagus. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Herrold on Hill this spring. The B&B is in an idyllic location a couple of blocks from the Honeywell Center and Dr. James Historic Home, a couple more from Historic Downtown (Eagles Theater, Wabash County Historical Museum, Green Hat Bar, Wine Tasting Room, Twenty, Market Street Grill, antique shops, etc.), as well as, a few blocks from the Wabash City park with trails and views of Charley Creek and Paradise Spring Historical Park with views of the Wabash River and links to the Wabash River Walk trail.

The hosts, Alan and Sandy, are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and presented in the dining room or on the porch. My bedroom was lovely, the bed comfortable and the sheets cozy. After breakfast, I walked everywhere to take in the nearby sites. Wabash has an interesting founding culture and part of this can be seen in the architecture of the buildings and homes. Herrold on Hill, built in 1885, is a wonderful example. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Herrold on Hill was the perfect place for a girls weekend getaway! Upon arrival we were graciously welcomed by our hosts, Sandy and Alan. Our room was clean and cozy, and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. Being on the first floor, close to the train tracks, I was a little worried about the noise, but we didn't hear a thing and I was happy to see a fan in our room:) Our breakfast was incredible both mornings....portabella mushroom and camembert cheese omelets, crunchy french toast with fresh blackberries and creme fraiche, and a refreshing beet and tomato juice with fresh horseradish. The coffee was plentiful with fresh cream and organic cane sugar to add. The shower was supplied with several bottles of L'OCCITANE shower gels and shampoo/conditioner. There were so many little touches that made our stay at Herrold on Hill so very special and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 313 W Hill St, Wabash, IN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Wabash
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wabash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and enjoy our 1885 built Victorian Neo-Jacobean Bed and Breakfast Inn within walking distance of downtown Wabash and the Honeywell Center. Opulence and warmth grace our spacious antique and art filled Victorian Inn with 6 Luxury King and Queen Bedrooms, three and one half baths, formal dining room, two guest parlors, 2 open oak stairways, hardwood and marble floors, elegant chandeliers and stained glass throughout including 2 unique round windows, eight fireplaces, screened in porch and large restored Carriage House for meetings. Candlelight breakfast is served on china and crystal in the formal dining room, in your room or on the screened in porch weather permitting. Modern amenities include A/C, large flat screen TVs, high speed internet and WiFi, fax machine and Blu-Ray DVD player available. No Smoking and No pets. Service Dogs are Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and T4B so you can book your Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.