We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wabash Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   313 W Hill St, Wabash, IN   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Direct Discount Booking
Ranked #1 of 1 Wabash B&B and Inns
Avilla, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wabash Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This beautifully restored 1885 Victorian mansion, with its marble & hardwood floors, comfortable beds, original works of art, and gracious, accommodating hosts (Alan & Sandy) is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway! Herrold on Hill's proximity to downtown Wabash is great for walking to the Honeywell Center, restaurants, antique shops, and Paradise Spring Historic Park and Riverwalk.

Breakfast was lovingly prepared and elegantly served in the chandelier & candlelit dining room. We enjoyed a leisurely meal of Maine blueberries atop organic vanilla yogurt, Saigon cinnamon-sprinkled Moroccan orange slices, sunny side up quail eggs (Yes! Healthy, tiny little delicacies!) crispy kale chips, tangerine citrus juice, hot tea, and baked cinnamon pecan French toast with sliced, fresh strawberries. Everything was scrumptious!

We definitely recommend Herrold on HIll, and hope to return in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairland, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Alan and Sandy took such great care of me. The room was clean, comfortable and beautiful. I stayed on Valentine's Day, so when I arrived I had a wonderful meal, graciously served by Sandy and Alan. Delicious! I was offered a sweet or savory breakfast. I chose savory and was treated to a healthy Eggs Benedict with quail eggs, yogurt, tangerine juice and asparagus. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Herrold on Hill this spring. The B&B is in an idyllic location a couple of blocks from the Honeywell Center and Dr. James Historic Home, a couple more from Historic Downtown (Eagles Theater, Wabash County Historical Museum, Green Hat Bar, Wine Tasting Room, Twenty, Market Street Grill, antique shops, etc.), as well as, a few blocks from the Wabash City park with trails and views of Charley Creek and Paradise Spring Historical Park with views of the Wabash River and links to the Wabash River Walk trail.

The hosts, Alan and Sandy, are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and presented in the dining room or on the porch. My bedroom was lovely, the bed comfortable and the sheets cozy. After breakfast, I walked everywhere to take in the nearby sites. Wabash has an interesting founding culture and part of this can be seen in the architecture of the buildings and homes. Herrold on Hill, built in 1885, is a wonderful example. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Herrold on Hill was the perfect place for a girls weekend getaway! Upon arrival we were graciously welcomed by our hosts, Sandy and Alan. Our room was clean and cozy, and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. Being on the first floor, close to the train tracks, I was a little worried about the noise, but we didn't hear a thing and I was happy to see a fan in our room:) Our breakfast was incredible both mornings....portabella mushroom and camembert cheese omelets, crunchy french toast with fresh blackberries and creme fraiche, and a refreshing beet and tomato juice with fresh horseradish. The coffee was plentiful with fresh cream and organic cane sugar to add. The shower was supplied with several bottles of L'OCCITANE shower gels and shampoo/conditioner. There were so many little touches that made our stay at Herrold on Hill so very special and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Herrold on Hill offers above and beyond excellent service and accommodations. The comfort and elegance of the rooms are incredible. Breakfast will amaze you! I stayed two nights and each morning I was greeted with an outstanding meal. Alan & Sandy (caretakers of the B&B) prepared breakfast from items freshly purchased at the local farmers market. Presentation and taste left you wanting more! Their culinary talents are rare and exquisite!

The reason for my stay was a two night get away with two high school friends I hadn't seen in 15 years. From the moment we pulled into the drive until the moment we left, we were pampered beyond belief. The king size bed had high quality sheets and bedding. The victorian decor and high-end antiques is tastefully executed and ads to the unique experience this B&B has to offer. The complimentary shower toiletries and towels were high quality. The location of Herrold on Hill lends itself nicely to the historic shopping district of downtown Wabash.

We enjoyed coffee on the screened in patio where myself and long-time high school friends were able to chat away the morning hours.

If you are making a trip to North Eastern Indiana and are looking for an over night stay that will NOT disappoint then I encourage you to choose Herrold on Hill. You will want to return again and again or you may not ever want to leave.

Room Tip: The home is very well insulated. If you plan on coming and going often during your stay, I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently traveled back to my hometown to attend a high school reunion. I was so pleased that I chose to stay at Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast. Alan and Sandy are consummate hosts. Sandy set a beautiful table (notice candles are lit, even for breakfast) and Alan fixed exquisite breakfast entrees both days.

My room was on the bottom floor. I was a little concerned about noise, but it was very quiet. All of the rooms throughout the house are nicely furnished with beautiful antiques and provide a comfortable and inviting atmosphere.

This is definitely the place I will stay whenever I return to my hometown. Thank you Alan and Sandy for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stunning home in the heart of Wabash! Clean, comfortable and beautifully styled rooms. Gourmet food (ask about the ribs...best ever!) and five-star service from our amazing hosts! Loved everything, from our sleep number bed to our round window bathroom! You should definitely plan a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 313 W Hill St, Wabash, IN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Wabash
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wabash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and enjoy our 1885 built Victorian Neo-Jacobean Bed and Breakfast Inn within walking distance of downtown Wabash and the Honeywell Center. Opulence and warmth grace our spacious antique and art filled Victorian Inn with 6 Luxury King and Queen Bedrooms, three and one half baths, formal dining room, two guest parlors, 2 open oak stairways, hardwood and marble floors, elegant chandeliers and stained glass throughout including 2 unique round windows, eight fireplaces, screened in porch and large restored Carriage House for meetings. Candlelight breakfast is served on china and crystal in the formal dining room, in your room or on the screened in porch weather permitting. Modern amenities include A/C, large flat screen TVs, high speed internet and WiFi, fax machine and Blu-Ray DVD player available. No Smoking and No pets. Service Dogs are Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Venere, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.