We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Ogle Haus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ogle Haus Inn

Save Saved
You added Ogle Haus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ogle Haus Inn
1013 W Main Street, Vevay, IN 47043-9459   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vevay
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Ogle Haus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

I stayed at the Ogle Haus because the Belterra was booked. Note that the Ogle Haus is only 7 miles from Belterra which was perfect. As it turned out the Best Western Ogle Haus Inn is currently owened by Belterra. It is a very beautiful hotel . Huge beautiful lobby with a nice bar area and a patio overlooking the Ohio River. It was extremely quiet there on my stay which was on a weekday but the staff had told us that its a bit livier on the weekends. A complimentary breakfast is available as well. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. I ordered food from the bar area which was very good as well. Although we could have driven to Belterra but we opted for their shuttle service to and from Belterra. The staff was very helpful and kind.

The rooms were very fresh smelling. The shower ran perfectly providing a nice water pressure. My sister and I had the double queen room. There is an iron/board; coffee maker, and refrig in the room.

The rooms are non-smoking and they have you sign an acknowledgement that the if you do you will be fined $250.

Overall it was a great stay at the Ogle Haus!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
donskyky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Clean,quiet and economical.Stayed here instead of the Belterra,because the rates go over $150 a night on the weekends.large room and a comfortable bed,a view of the Ohio river out of a balcony room.Room had a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

Will definitely stay here again if I'm back to the area. Nice and clean property. Right on the Ohio River scenic route, easy to find. Best of all, it is a nonsmoking hotel. Room had no smell at all. Great rates! Great staff. However, the town of Vevay doesn't have many restaurants.

  • Liked — No smoking, clean.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This was our second stay at the Ogle Haus and I know there will be many more,in our future...

The staff are a friendly group of people ready and willing to aid the guest at every juncture, As on our last stay the rooms were fresh and clean, The beds very comfortable , we truly liked the in room microwave and refrigerator , so very handy . We also enjoyed the continental breakfast and of course the river view from the breakfast area, Just the thought that every room in the hotel overlooks the river in awesome, it was wonderful to sit on our patio early in the morning and watch the sunrise while enjoying a good cup of coffee.

I have a medical condition which involves the transport of some heavy equipment and the GSR noted that in our profile so it will alert them to the necessity of ground floor rooms for us . We truly love the idea of an entire hotel that is non smoking and never expected to find that in a state that does not have " smoking " laws.

We had gone to see a show at Belterra and I had to come back to the room early due to needing a treatment and I stopped at the front desk to get change to tip the shuttle driver and the gsr saw I was having trouble breathing and offered to take the money out to the driver for me, that was so very thoughtful.

Would we stay there again , definitely, it is a sound investment for the quality of the rooms and the services.

We spent part of the next day in Vevay and the town is just so quaint and lovely , such a nice place to make a weekend getaway.

You should try it !!!

  • Liked — Very comfortable beds and the refrigerators, microwave and coffee maker
  • Disliked — Could have used more pillows
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Usually stay at Belterra due to having comps but had none for this weekend. Ogle Haus was a great bargain. The breakfast had the usual items plus biscuits and gravy,plus sausage. The cool evening was perfect for sitting out by the river. There is a deck behind the eating area so you can eat breakfast overlooking the river. There is a lighted gazebo with a gas grill near the pool. As far as the staff goes, my sister had a strange noise in her room and called the desk. There was a member of the staff there within 5 minutes who fixed the problem.(it was the in room refridgerator) All contact with the staff was very pleasant. Plus, there is a free shuttle to the casino. Be sure to take the time to check out the shops in Vevay, Ind. You won't be disappointed...

  • Liked — very quiet
  • Disliked — can't think of anything negative
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

The Ogle Haus Inn is a very pleasant, nice hotel on the Ohio River in Vevay, Indiana. The hotel has been recently renovated, and the rooms were very nice. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast is quite good. Our room had a great view of the river, the beds were very comfortable, the refrigerator and microwave are a nice feature. We also enjoyed the Wolfgang Puck coffee in the room early the next morning.
Ogle Haus is a very pleasant place to stay, and the village of Vevay is a quaint place to walk around and explore.

  • Liked — Excellent staff and pleasant place to stay.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

What a nice surprise this hotel was! The architecture was so "Swiss", and nice. It had an ample lobby with high ceilings and a breakfast room with huge windows overlooking a wooden deck and the Ohio river. I really liked the carpet in the hallways; it looked new, clean, and it had very beautiful patterns.

Breakfast was abundant and of good quality - and free. They even have different types of coffee to choose from. The breakfast room is full of light and has a nice view of the river.

The rooms were comfortable, clean and nice. No smoke odor since this hotel is 100% non-smoking . Nice bedspreads and pillows. Nice bathroom. Our room, on the first floor, had sliding doors, so we could go out and walk along the river. The other floors had balconies.

The staff was nice and helpful.

The hotel has a bar but no restaurant.

I could not be more pleased with our stay in this little jewel on the Ohio River.

  • Liked — Nice room, good breakfast, 100% non-smoking hotel.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ogle Haus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogle Haus Inn

Address: 1013 W Main Street, Vevay, IN 47043-9459
Location: United States > Indiana > Vevay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vevay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss/Bavarian - Ohio River overlooking the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Ogle Haus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogle Haus Hotel Vevay
Best Western Vevay
Vevay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogle Haus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.