We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it's supposed to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelsosomo's Pizzeria

Gelsosomo's Pizzeria
2605 Laporte Ave, Valparaiso, IN 46383-6904
219-477-4255
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good for what it's supposed to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I'm a New Yorker, so I like NY style pizza. My friend raved about Chicago style pizza, and I have to say, based on what he described as a good CHI style pizza, this was great. Quite enjoyable. The service and staff were excellent and the value is clear. I'd definitely go back, or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Dont Get the Chips and Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Out shopping at plaza across the street from Gelsosomos Pizza in Valpo In. We go to Portage location most of the time. This is a newer location and found it to have a nicer, more comfortable interior. Ordered chips and cheese dip, when it came out,my wife and I both looked at each other and said "you must be kidding" . Cheap hard chips from the bag and a tasteless cheese sauce. Do not get! Pizza there is great, best in the area. Found it to be made better and cooked just right,better than Portage location. Wait person was friendly and attentive. Bob &Karen Anderson

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nw Indiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great tasting pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great pizza tops the menu at Gelsosomo's. Nice dining room offers cozy, quaint location to meet with friends and have pizza and beer. Salads, sandwiches and other offerings are available but the pizza is what you come here for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a Popeyes pizza! Yum! So good! Great for vegetarians! Just cheese and spinach in like a calzone! I would recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the best pizza in NW Indiana. Period. Also, they have a nice little salad bar for lunch. Nothing to write home about, but salad and pizza - but it's good stuff! The place has a nice, cozy feeling about it. Oh, make time to wait for the Chicago-style deep dish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelsosomo's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Gelsosomo's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelsosomo's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.