We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Schoop's Hamburgers

Schoop's Hamburgers
2816 Calumet Ave, Valparaiso, IN 46383-2606
219-464-2996
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 130 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Portage, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Poor!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The service was terrible. The Waitstaff sat around and talked to each other. And the place was a mess. Not very many people eating there and the service was still slow. Won't be going back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best burgers in NW Indiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Been enjoying Schoop's Hamburgers since I was a kid. I don't know how they make the crispy edges but they are absolutely amazing. Recommend the Mickey! That one extra slice of cheese is life changing. I moved out of the area, but whenever I have the chance to go there, I do! Oh - and get the Green River!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We eat at Schoop's often, having a few around the area. The grilled burgers are large and delicious. A basket of fries is large enough for 2 people to share. The mozzarella sticks are good too. The kids love the root beer floats and shakes. I saw older reviews that talked about the food being greasy. We have never had a greasy burger. The 50's memorabelia creates a fun atmosphere and is interesting to talk about. The servers are usually young, but always do a great job and the service and food are quick.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shoop's is a good representation of "The Region"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Notable for their freshly prepared hamburgers, Shoop's offers quality food, and a pleasant colorful atmosphere, consistent with “The Region” of Northwest Indiana since 1948. One of several restaurants in the chain, I believe that the first was in Hammond. They have a large food service counter with swivel seats as well as tables and booths, so seating is fast and comfortable. This is a great place to come for a quick breakfast or lunch with friends and family.

The decorations and photos on display are decidedly ‘50s era and include objects and memorabilia of ‘our fair city’ in a quieter era. I’m hoping that this does not go out of style, as there is little competition from the fast food chains who do not compare with the wonderful enviornment and attractive prices.

The restaurant is located in a strip mall on the east side of Calumet Avenue, near a popular sporting goods store, as well as an oil change facility, auto parts store, a super market and within walking distance of our new YMCA. Parking is not the best, but certainly adequate.

Once seated by the friendly staff, the menu is well representative of fresh and healthy American fare. The service is very fast and the food was served perfectly prepared. This is a place that I like to go for a quick breakfast or lunch, or to meet with someone for business. The restaurant is roomy, and perfect for families, or those who want to stop after shopping.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An Homage which works.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It feels like a '50's diner with the theme but it feels like you stepped back a few decades. Excellent hamburgers of course. But for a nice casual relaxed and decadent breakfast, it is hard to beat. Great egg dishes, pancakes and french toast. Affordable, friendly and good food done right.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoop's Hamburgers also viewed

 

Been to Schoop's Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoop's Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.