We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice in Valparaiso” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 LaPorte Avenue, Valparaiso, IN 46383   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Paoli, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Valparaiso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This property is in a great location for whatever brings you to Valparaiso. It is literally just two minutes to campus, so if you're in town for a VU function, this is the place to stay. Front desk staff members were very friendly and helpful, and the property is clean and well-maintained. Beds were comfortable and even though the hotel was full on our first night there, noise was not a problem.

The complimentary breakfast was a little below average for a Country Inn & Suites property (oatmeal barely warm, only plastic juice glasses, inconvenient placement of items, and extremely crowded SMALL dining room), but that's not a deal-breaker for me.

Having stayed at other nearby hotels in Valpo, I would have to say that for the value and level of service received, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
ksfmom,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Valparaiso and taking time to review our hotel! We are certainly glad to hear that enjoyed our hotel and had great rest while here.

I am sorry the breakfast was not on par with other Country Inn and Suites. I appreciate the feedback and will look to improve the breakfast.

I hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for reviwing our property.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
31
7
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Passing through on Memorial Day weekend we booked online and got a great room for 5000 points + $65. Check in was smooth and room was very clean. Breakfast lived up to the quality expected and often provided by CI&S's. Will stay here again on a trip through the area.

Nice restaurant selection nearby as well!

Room Tip: The two queens is a bit small when traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
AdamGBWI,

I happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Club Carlson is a wonderful program and the bonuses are great. We appreciate the feedback on your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had the good fortune to spend a weekend at this hotel while I attended a wedding at the University. The service at this hotel is amazing! The front desk people and manager, Derrick, are eager to do anything they can to accommodate you. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Valparasio area!

Room Tip: From what I could see there ARE no bad rooms! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Msfighter,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the future when you're back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pa. USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our rooms were reserved a month in advance by my brother. We traveled 11 hours to get there. I am a widow and was there with my sister and brother in law to celebrate my brother and sister in laws 50th anniversary who lives in Indiana. We were to have rooms side by side but I got sent upstairs. That was a disaster...the bus load of Chinese were out in the hall making so much noise and talking in Chinese. I was up most of the night. I know you gave me a reduction in the price but I think it should have been more than what you gave me for the hastle that I went through. I am 75 years old. I do have to tell you that the room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. You put out a very nice breakfast for your guests and I did enjoy that until the Chinese gang came in and they just took over the whole place so we left. The second morning, we had to leave at 6am to start for Pa. as it is an 11 hour drive home so did not get to eat. breakfast. .

Room Tip: I would recommend your place to all travelers to stay there. If it was not for the mix up with the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello Eleanor,

I am glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable and that you would stay here again! It's always nice to see familiar faces.

I am truly sorry about not being able to keep you near your family during stay. I am also sorry about the noise levels throughout the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and share your experience with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just a hidden treasure of a good, clean, well-run hotel with a manager who gives a damn. Best bang for the buck. Convient to highways to get to Chicago or the South Shore Railroad ( an electric inter-urban), as well as East. Beats Chicago rates and, if you like, you can access Chicago via either expressway, tollway/skybridge, or rhe old Route U.S. 41 which you pickup to the west, or via I-80/94; old Rt. 41 takes you on South Lake Shore Drive to Lake Shore Drive along Chicago's lakefront (Very nice drive): That makes staying in Valpo. even more attractive. Also, very close to the Indiana Dunes State Park as well as The Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore. I've been staying there every trip I make to NW Indiana as I don't like the other hotels in Valpo., it's close to Chicago, amd the staff is freindly and helpful. Much nicer than a room I paid much more for at the O'hare Airport Hilton for two nights recently. No problem/no hassle hotel. And, it's quiet and has great beds. Stay there, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Just expect that you will be very happy with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Upon arrival we were exhausted and the front desk girl Ashley went above and beyond for us upon our arrival and our entire stay. It's a nice change to stay somewhere where hospitality is #1. Great stay, the only complaint I have is, while the staff was friendly, I felt there wasn't enough staff. There was not a breakfast attendant the entire time we were there and when walking up to the front desk, you could see that the front desk person was ALWAYS in the back folding laundry or a sign was out on the counter because the 1 staff member on duty was away from the desk helping another guest. Definately under-staffed but other than that the room was GREAT, the employees were WONDERFUL (just need more of them) and we will be returning.

Room Tip: great place to stay I am sure any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Country Inn & Suites was great for the long weekend we had in Valparaiso. The staff was very professional, courteous, accommodating, and pleasant. The rooms were up-to-date, clean, and quiet. We were right next to the elevator, but couldn't hear it when in our room.
The room had plenty of space for two double beds. Nice desk, extra chair, two beds, and big cradenza with a flat-screen TV, microwave and mini-fridge. Hair dryer in each room.
Only complaints is that water pressure on the third floor wasn't great, and the hot tub was more like bath-water.
I was very impressed with this affordable hotel! Very affordable, and with the great variety in breakfast items, large rooms and cleanliness, it was a great value!!

Room Tip: Third floor you will wait for an elevator, but stairs on each side of hotel aren't too far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Address: 2020 LaPorte Avenue, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Valparaiso hotels at the Valparaiso Country Inn & Suites. Located conveniently near Valparaiso University and Valparaiso's historic downtown area, our hotel is the perfect place to stay for college visits, business, and leisure trips. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast with a variety of healthy and hearty options, including waffles, bagels, muffins, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and juices. Relax in our whirlpool, enjoy an invigorating workout in our Fitness Center, and stay connected to loved ones and business obligations with complimentary high-speed Internet access. Book your reservation today, and in no time, you'll be saying "I Love This Country." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.